Memphis Belle war movie
Memphis Belle war movie

Memphis Belle (1990, United Kingdom)

Categories: aircraft movies

Running time: 110 minutes

Language: English


May 1943, US Army Air Forces are taking part in strategic bombing of German industrial areas, but contrary to official propaganda Luftwaffe is not on the knees yet and every mission over the Nazi territory is dangerous and each time the losses among Allied forces are high. Crew of one of the B-17 Flying Fortress bombers, called Memphis Belle, is close to be the first in US Army Air Forces to complete the whole tour of duty, 25 missions, and return to United States. All they need to do is return safely from their next flight over Europe and they will be free to go. Army journalist Lieutenant Derringer arrives to the their base and interviews them as preparation for their war bonds tour back home. If they will reach the 25 missions limit it will also be a morale booster for other crews that each day see their friends killed over Europe. But not all of the Memphis Belle crew members are pleased with the interest - they feel pressured before theit last mission and are worried that this attention will jinx their flight. When the day finally arrives they receive their orders and await green light, but the changing weather over target keeps postponing their take off and puts their nerves on additional strain.

The true story of Memphis Belle crew, who were the first of US Army Air Forces that were up for finishing their tour of duty over Europe, where daylight bombings were causing high losses among the bomber crews. Although filmed using surviving B-17 bombers, P-51 Mustangs, scenes were made with actuall quite good effort the creators decided to... tell completely fictional story, which was an odd choice since they used the real events and real bomber name as basis. The crewmembers in the movie have nothing in common with the real life crew of Memphis Belle (including names), the events before and during their last mission were changed completely. Overall it is quite entertaining movie, but the crew lacks the depth of real people and it is hard to get involved in the plot.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Memphis Belle full movie


full movie Memphis Belle full movie
full movie Memphis Belle on DVD


Creators of Memphis Belle

Michael Caton-Jones movies

Monte Merrick movies

Monte Merrick

screenplay



Cast of Memphis Belle

Matthew Modine movies matthew-modine

Matthew Modine

as Captain Dennis Dearborn


Eric Stoltz movies eric-stoltz

Eric Stoltz

as Sergeant Danny Daly


Tate Donovan movies tate-donovan

Tate Donovan

as Lieutenant Luke Sinclair


D.B. Sweeney movies d.b.-sweeney

D.B. Sweeney

as Lieutenant Phil Lowenthal


Billy Zane movies billy-zane

Billy Zane

as Lieutenant Val Kozlowski


Sean Astin movies sean-astin

Sean Astin

as Sergeant Richard Moore


Harry Connick Jr movies harry-connick-jr

Harry Connick Jr

as Sergeant Clay Busby


Reed Diamond movies reed-diamond

Reed Diamond

as Sergeant Virgil Hoogesteger


Courtney Gains movies courtney-gains

Courtney Gains

as Sergeant Eugene McVey


Neil Giuntoli movies neil-giuntoli

Neil Giuntoli

as Sergeant Jack Bocci


David Strathairn movies david-strathairn

David Strathairn

as Colonel Craig Harriman


John Lithgow movies john-lithgow

John Lithgow

as Lt. Colonel Bruce Derringer


Jane Horrocks movies jane-horrocks

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Memphis Belle

World War II (1936-1945)





Memphis Belle war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog naval simulators