Men of the Fighting Lady war movie
Men of the Fighting Lady war movie

Men of the Fighting Lady (1954, United States)

Categories: aircraft carrier moviesaircraft moviesbombardment movies

Running time: 85 minutes

Language: English


Journalist James A. Michener arrives to USS Oriskany aircraft carrier that operates near coast of Korea. The ship surgeon, Commander Dowling, tells him the story of group of pilots from USS Oriskany while they were attacking targets during the Korean War. Several times they were attacking the same target - a railroad junction, but each time they were asked to attack from lower altitude, which maked their task more risky. Two of the commanders, Grayson and Dodson, had different views on that tactics - while Dodson thought itís puting them in unnecessary danger of being shot down, Grayson prefered more aggresive attacks. Soon the tention between them affects other pilots.

American war drama set during Korean War, that consists a lot of real combat scenes (including attacks on the target, the take-offs and landings on aircraft carrier and in-flight manouvers) which makes it one of more realistic war movies about aircraft carrier operations. Surprisingly, even though the movie was obviously made with US Navy cooperation, the creators manages to keep it free of the war-time propaganda and the plot concentrates on the human side of the airborne warfare and pilots rather than senseless patriotic brainwashing.

The script was based on true stories of the pilots that were serving over Korea. The stories were first published in Saturday Evening Post, article "The Forgotten Heroes of Korea" by James A. Michener. Overall it is almost documentary-like film with plenty of real action scenes.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Men of the Fighting Lady full movie


full movie Men of the Fighting Lady on DVD
full movie Men of the Fighting Lady full movie


Creators of Men of the Fighting Lady

Andrew Marton movies

James A. Michener movies

Harry A. Burns movies

Harry A. Burns

screenplay


Art Cohn movies

Art Cohn

screenplay



Cast of Men of the Fighting Lady

Van Johnson movies van-johnson

Van Johnson

as Thayer


Walter Pidgeon movies walter-pidgeon

Walter Pidgeon

as Dowling


Louis Calhern movies louis-calhern

Louis Calhern

as Michener


Dewey Martin movies dewey-martin

Dewey Martin

as Schechter


Keenan Wynn movies keenan-wynn

Keenan Wynn

as Dodson


Frank Lovejoy movies frank-lovejoy

Frank Lovejoy

as Grayson


Robert Horton movies robert-horton

Robert Horton

as Conovan


Bert Freed movies bert-freed

Bert Freed

as Szymanski


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Men of the Fighting Lady

Korean War (1950-1953)





Men of the Fighting Lady war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Battle of Balaclava