Midway war movie
Midway war movie

Midway (1976, United States)

Categories: aircraft carrier moviesaircraft moviesnaval battle moviesnavy movies

Running time: 135 minutes

Language: English


In 1942, after a streak of wins, Japanese forces were looking for the way to take the control over Pacific. What they did not known is that Americans have cracked their secret code JN-25 used for radio communication and were able to read most of the messages. But Japanese usually did not use the actual names of the places, rather some codes that represented them, thus Americans were able to read message about preparations for attack, but they did not know for sure what will be the target. Commander Joseph Rochefort used a trick to determine what will be the next target of Japan, he ordered a fake message about the problem with water supply on Midway be transmitted from the island. Soon later Americans have intercepted the same message among the Japanese communications and found out that Midway, a small, but strategically important atoll located between Hawaii and Japan, is the next target. After Pearl Harbor and Coral Sea US Navy had limited resources in the area - 3 carriers and few heavy cruisers, while Japanese still had at least 4 carriers plus escort. Admiral Chester Nimitz has to gamble his move to take away the advantage from Japanese, but his opponent Admiral Yamamoto counts on the element of surprise that is already gone...

War movie depicting the turning point of war on Pacific - the epic Battle of Midway, in which Japanese tried to take over the strategic atoll, while Americans had the last chance to still be in the game. Two great strategists Nimitz and Yamamoto have clashed in the duel, but one of them had the advantage of intelligence report about upcoming attack. The film accurately presents the events before and during the battle and all the tension on both sides - at that level it can be compared to brilliant Tora! Tora! Tora! from 1970, but Midway has one big flaw - a lot of scenes are stock shots taken from Tora! Tora! Tora!, Storm Over the Pacific, Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo and several other movies, which makes it a Frankenstein-like production put together from bits of old war movies. Overall it is well made film that depicts the famous battle, but the creators were using far too many scenes taken from other productions to call it a great movie.




Our rating

8.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Midway full movie


full movie Midway on DVD
full movie Midway full movie
full movie Midway on BluRay


Creators of Midway

Jack Smight movies

Jack Smight

director


Donald S. Sanford movies


Cast of Midway

Charlton Heston movies charlton-heston

Charlton Heston

as Captain Matthew Garth


Henry Fonda movies

Henry Fonda

as Admiral Chester Nimitz


Glenn Ford movies glenn-ford

Glenn Ford

as Rear Admiral Raymond Spruance


Toshiro Mifune movies toshiro-mifune

Toshiro Mifune

as Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto


James Shigeta movies james-shigeta

James Shigeta

as Vice Admiral Chuichi Nagumo


Robert Mitchum movies robert-mitchum

Robert Mitchum

as Vice Admiral William Halsey


James Coburn movies james-coburn

James Coburn

as Captain Vinton Maddox


Hal Holbrook movies hal-holbrook

Hal Holbrook

as Commander Joseph Rochefort


Cliff Robertson movies cliff-robertson

Cliff Robertson

as Commander Carl Jessop


Robert Wagner movies robert-wagner

Robert Wagner

as Lieutenant Commander Ernest Blake


Robert Webber movies robert-webber

Robert Webber

as Rear Admiral Frank Fletcher


Pat Morita movies pat-morita

Pat Morita

as Rear Admiral Ryunosuke Kusaka


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Midway

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Midway (4 Jun 1942)