Mister Roberts war movie
Mister Roberts war movie

Mister Roberts (1955, United States)

Categories: navy movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


On board of one of many merchant ships on Pacific Captain Morton keeps very strict discipline. His second in command, Lieutenant Roberts tries to keep up the morale in crew despite the fact that they werenít allow a shore leave for several months. Roberts is desperate to leave the ship and join the navy to see some action before the war ends. But Captain Morton blocks all his letters to higher command or denies his requests to be transfered. The crew that feels sympathy for Roberts try to help him, but they canít do anything against Captain Morton. Until one day...

Comedy-drama, based on a novel and successful play, set on board of one of thousands of merchant ships that helped the war effort on Pacific, depicts the life of crew that is tired and bored with the same routines theyíve been doing for months. They donít see what their work has to do with the war, they just ship their loads between ports. This is one of the films that shows the other side of the war - the people in the background not really considered heroes or be important enough in the first line of the fights.




Our rating

3.6

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Mister Roberts full movie


full movie Mister Roberts on DVD


Creators of Mister Roberts

John Ford movies

John Ford

director


Mervyn LeRoy movies

Mervyn LeRoy

director


Thomas Heggen movies

Thomas Heggen

screenplay


Joshua Logan movies

Joshua Logan

screenplay


Frank S. Nugent movies

Frank S. Nugent

screenplay



Cast of Mister Roberts

Henry Fonda movies

Henry Fonda

as Lieutenant Roberts


James Cagney movies james-cagney

James Cagney

as Captain Morton


William Powell movies william-powell

Jack Lemmon movies jack-lemmon

Jack Lemmon

as Ensign Pulver


Ward Bond movies ward-bond

Ward Bond

as Chief Petty Officer Dowdy


Philip Carey movies philip-carey

Philip Carey

as Mannion


Nick Adams movies nick-adams

Nick Adams

as Reber


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Mister Roberts

World War II (1936-1945)