War movies

For some people war movies are just type of action and adventure movies, but for others they can recall the painful memories. The war brings the worst sides of human nature, but at the same time can show the best sides of people. Although sometimes the war movies can be awfully brutal, you have to remember that the war is not an adventure, it causes damages to people bodies and minds.


Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

103 years ago on 28 June 1914 Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand took place. The assasination that took place in Sarajevo and triggered one of the most horrifying wars in history - the World War I.


Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle moviesknights movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviestrenches moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

XCOM Franchise Pack

XCOM Franchise Pack

Dark Souls III Deluxe Edition

Dark Souls III Deluxe Edition

Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie
Oh! What a Lovely War war movie

Oh! What a Lovely War war movie

1969

Oh! What a Lovely War (1969, United Kingdom)

Categories: political moviestrenches movies



Running time: 140 minutes

Language: English


In 1914 Europe empires were divided into two equally powerful alliances so there would never be war again. That concept kept the peace among the countries for some time, but there was just one flaw in the idea - none of the empires was actually happy when there was the peace. In 1914 the death of Archduke Franz Ferdinand was the sparkle that both sides needed to start another war - not for the political reasons, not for religious, not for the national nor any greater ideas, it was a war that no one wanted, but each side seems to be needed. So to stop the generals from getting rusty they have enlisted all the available young men to start another conflict and again prove how great they are by sacrificing the lives of the others. Among the recruits was Freddie Smith, young man, who leaves his family and joins the Royal Infantry when war starts in the fields of Belgium.

Film adaptation of 1963 stage musical by Joan Littlewood, expressing the anti-war climate that came after the World War I in Great Britain and other countries. The political background in the early years of 20th century was suppose to prevent any further wars, but then World War I (or the Great War as it was called back then) came and again took the lives of whole generation of young men. During the war there were voices that this is the war so horrible that it will end all the wars, but then the World War 2 happened and everything started from the beginning. Oh! What a Lovely War was written after World War 2, but the universal anti-war message is still the same - generals and politicians start the wars, but they are not the ones that fight them. Through the songs from that era we see the official propaganda as well as the atmosphere among the civilians and soldiers when they face the horror of the war. In simple scenes we see all the most important parts of the war - from draft propaganda, through Christmas Truce to insanity of Battle of the Somme. As war movie it is perhaps not very impressive, it is musical after all, but it shows all you need to know about the reality of World War I.


Our rating

5.2 / 10


Film value

7 / 10


Realism factor

2 / 5


Adventure factor

1 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

3 / 5



Oh! What a Lovely War full movie


full movie Oh! What a Lovely War on DVDfull movie Oh! What a Lovely War read onlinefull movie Oh! What a Lovely War audio


Oh! What a Lovely War videos


Oh! What a Lovely War




add comment

Comment below







Creators of Oh! What a Lovely War


Cast of Oh! What a Lovely War

Wendy Allnutt movies wendy-allnutt
as Flo Smith

Colin Farrell movies colin-farrell
as Harry Smith

Malcolm McFee movies malcolm-mcfee
as Freddie Smith

John Mills movies john-mills
as Field Marshal Sir Douglas Haig

John Rae movies john-rae
as Grandpa Smith

Corin Redgrave movies corin-redgrave
as Bertie Smith

Maurice Roeves movies maurice-roeves
as George Smith

Paul Shelley movies paul-shelley
as Jack Smith

Angela Thorne movies angela-thorne
as Betty Smith

Mary Wimbush movies mary-wimbush
as Mary Smith

Ian Holm movies ian-holm
as President Poincare

Juliet Mills movies juliet-mills
as nurse

Michael Bates movies michael-bates
as drunk Lance Corporal

Geoffrey Davies movies geoffrey-davies
as Aide

Edward Fox movies edward-fox
as Aide

Peter Gilmore movies peter-gilmore
as Private Burgess

Dirk Bogarde movies
as Stephen

John Gielgud movies john-gielgud
as Count Leopold Berchtold

Kenneth More movies kenneth-more
as Kaiser Wilhelm II

Laurence Olivier movies laurence-olivier
as Field Marshal Sir John French

Michael Redgrave movies michael-redgrave
as Sir Henry Wilson

Vanessa Redgrave movies vanessa-redgrave
as Sylvia Pankhurst

Ralph Richardson movies ralph-richardson
as Sir Edward Grey

Susannah York movies susannah-york
as Eleanor

Jean-Pierre Cassel movies jean-pierre-cassel
as French Colonel


Events depicted in Oh! What a Lovely War

World War I (1914-1918) Christmas Truce (24 Dec 1914) Battle of the Somme (1 Jul 1916)