Operation Himmler war movie
Operation Himmler war movie

Operation Himmler (1979, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Operacja Himmler

Categories: covert operations movies

Running time: 80 minutes

Language: Polish


In summer of 1939 German preparations for another step toward securing lebensraum (living space) were in the final stage. They have completed the annexation of Austria and Czechoslovakia, now they have turned towards Poland. Head of secret police Heydrich and head of Abwehra Canaris were chosen to prepare the plan that would give the Germans justification for invading that country. They came up with simple plot that would show the world that Polish were aggressive and Germany simply had to defend themselves. To do that they have chosen a team of SS soldiers that would carry out the operation, called Operation Himmler, by attacking the radio station in Gliwice and broadcasting in Polish the appeal to attack Germany. To make it more convincing they would be dressed in Polish uniforms, but there was also another detail - they were suppose to kill a German citizen during the attack. But since it was planned by Germans they did not leave anything to chance - they have provided the unfortunate citizen in advance...

Polish war movie presenting the preparations of SS to carry out Operation Himmler, the provocation that would justify in the eyes of the world the invasion of Poland in 1939. It isn’t the first movie about that operation, but unfortunately it was made in times when Polish movies were made with very low budget and minimum effort. We have here script kept very close to the real events, rather good cast, but the poor quality of lighting and not very impressive directing makes this movie only a decent, low pace historical drama.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Creators of Operation Himmler

Zbigniew Chmielewski movies

Wlodzimierz Kowalski movies

Eugeniusz Kozlowski movies


Cast of Operation Himmler

Eugeniusz Kujawski movies eugeniusz-kujawski

Eugeniusz Kujawski

as Reinhard Heydrich


Stanislaw Frackowiak movies stanislaw-frackowiak

Stanislaw Frackowiak

as operation commander


Ryszard Pietruski movies ryszard-pietruski

Ryszard Pietruski

as Adolf Hitler


Wirgiliusz Gryn movies wirgiliusz-gryn

Wirgiliusz Gryn

as Sturmbannfuhrer Hoffmann


Janusz Sykutera movies janusz-sykutera

Janusz Sykutera

as Heinrich Müller


Tomasz Zaliwski movies tomasz-zaliwski

Tomasz Zaliwski

as Polish General


Jozef Kalita movies jozef-kalita

Jozef Kalita

as doctor Vogel


Olgierd Lukaszewicz movies olgierd-lukaszewicz

Olgierd Lukaszewicz

as Schollenberg


Ryszard Kotys movies ryszard-kotys

Ryszard Kotys

as prisoner


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Operation Himmler

World War II (1936-1945) Invasion of Poland (1 Sep 1939)





Operation Himmler war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Norwegian war movies