Paths of Glory war movie
Paths of Glory war movie

Paths of Glory (1957, United States)

Categories: artillery moviescourtroom moviesinfantry moviesreconnaissance moviestrenches movies

Running time: 85 minutes

Language: English


French generals are planning to make another push to catch the Anthill. They assume that the division lead by Colonel Dax will suffer heavy losses, but still they see this attack as inevitable. During the unsuccessful attack the company B does not leave the trenches and general orders the artillery the bombardment of their position. When the battery captain refuses to shell friendly forces general demands that a 100 men should be shot dead as an example punishment for refusal to attack. Finally he settles for 3 people to be killed as an example. Colonel Dax decides to defend the men that were chosen to put in front of firing squad.

Film shows the degradation of any values during the war, including the human life, honesty, decency and justice. Insane officers treating the battles like games and drove by completely inhuman interpretation of sense of duty they are making the enemy almost obsolete - they are doing fine killing their own army without any outside help.

Very good movie based on a real events from World War 1, with the typical presentation of the war as place where all the human values are long forgotten.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Paths of Glory full movie


full movie Paths of Glory on BluRay


Creators of Paths of Glory

Stanley Kubrick movies

Stanley Kubrick movies

Stanley Kubrick

screenplay


Humphrey Cobb movies

Humphrey Cobb

screenplay


Jim Thompson movies

Jim Thompson

screenplay


Calder Willingham movies


Cast of Paths of Glory

Kirk Douglas movies

Kirk Douglas

as Colonel Dax


Ralph Meeker movies ralph-meeker

Ralph Meeker

as Corporal Philippe Paris


Adolphe Menjou movies adolphe-menjou

Adolphe Menjou

as General George Broulard


George Macready movies george-macready

George Macready

as General Paul Mireau


Wayne Morris movies wayne-morris

Wayne Morris

as Lieutenant Roget


Richard Anderson movies richard-anderson

Richard Anderson

as Major Saint-Auban


Joe Turkel movies joe-turkel

Joe Turkel

as Private Pierre Arnaud


Timothy Carey movies timothy-carey

Timothy Carey

as Private Maurice Ferol


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Paths of Glory

World War I (1914-1918)





Paths of Glory war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies