War movies

War movies often show the worts times in the history of human kind, but even in those times the humanity sometimes was able to overcome to gore and horror. The war was different for infantry men, snipers, submarine crews or pilots, but usually they are equally bad for the civilians. Although sometimes the war movies can be awfully brutal, you have to remember that the war is not an adventure, it causes damages to people bodies and minds.



Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

Platoon war movie
Platoon war movie
Platoon war movie

Platoon war movie

1986

Platoon (1986, United States)

Categories: infantry moviesjungle moviesmilitary base movies



Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


During Vietnam War young man Chris Taylor volunteers to join army and soon after is being prepared for transfer to southeast Asia. He sees soldiers returning from their tour of duty - human wrecks scared mentally or with mutilated bodies. Nevertheless Chris sees his service as his duty for his country. On arrival he quickly learns that the reality of this war is far from what he expected. His unit is under command of two sergeants - Elias and Barnes that represent two different approaches to their role in the war. Barnes is ruthless and thinks their mission justifies any means he uses. Elias has more direct approach to people and tries to keep distance from the war. In the jungle they are constantly under the threat from Viet Cong and lose few man during the night attack of the partisans. On arrival to village believed to support Viet Cong Barnes leads the soldiers ready to take revenge on civilians for the loses of his unit. Elias tries to stop him, but when those two veterans clash the situation quickly gets out of hand.

The story written by Oliver Stone is based on his own experience from Vietnam War, where he served in the army. Hard look at that conflict shows how brutality of the war infect people involved - humanity in some people quickly vanishes under the stress and constant threat and they move to more primal feelings - fear, anger, ruthlessness and urge to take revenge. Brutal movie about brutal conflict that left many soldiers wounded for life - physically and mentally.


Our rating

7.2 / 10


Film value

7 / 10


Realism factor

4 / 5


Adventure factor

3 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

4 / 5



add comment

Comment below







Creators of Platoon

Oliver Stone movies

director


Oliver Stone movies

screenplay



Cast of Platoon

Charlie Sheen movies charlie-sheen
as Chris

Willem Dafoe movies willem-dafoe
as Sgt. Elias

Tom Berenger movies tom-berenger
as Sgt. Barnes

Keith David movies keith-david
as King

Forest Whitaker movies forest-whitaker
as Big Harold

Francesco Quinn movies francesco-quinn
as Rhah

Kevin Dillon movies kevin-dillon
as Bunny

John C. McGinley movies
as Sgt. O’Neill

Reggie Johnson movies reggie-johnson
as Junior

Mark Moses movies mark-moses
as Lt. Wolfe

Johnny Depp movies johnny-depp
as Lerner


Events depicted in Platoon

Vietnam War (1955-1975)