Play Dirty war movie
Play Dirty war movie

Play Dirty (1969, United Kingdom)

Categories: ambush moviescommandos moviesdesert moviesraid moviesspecial forces movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English / Arabic / German


British special forces commando in North Africa is preparing for another daring raid behind enemy lines - this time their target is another fuel dump of Afrika Korps. But Colonel Masters is told that this time the mission will have to be lead by regular army officer. Captain Douglas will be that officer, although he is actually British Petroleum employee and fuel installations expert, not actual professional soldier. Douglas and Masters are both reluctant to take part in that mission, but itís not like they are given the choice. Disguised as Italian army patrol and with unit consisting of shady characters they set out for the desert. From the beginning Douglas and Masters canít find the way to cooperate, but in the desert such situation can be deadly.

Script for this war movie was based on the British special forces operating in the North Africa (like Long Range Desert Group or Popskiís Private Army) that was making daring raids on the Afrika Korps and Italian army bases. As many other war movies that took place in the desert Play Dirty is lacking in dynamism and originality. The script was interesting, but not interesting enough to fill the 2 hours long movie. Caine, Davenport and Green did well with their parts, but overall it is only average movie not much better than some of the Italian war flicks from 1970s or 1980s.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Play Dirty full movie


full movie Play Dirty on DVD


Creators of Play Dirty

Andre De Toth movies

George Marton movies

George Marton

screenplay


Melvyn Bragg movies

Melvyn Bragg

screenplay


Lotte Colin movies

Lotte Colin

screenplay



Cast of Play Dirty

Michael Caine movies

Michael Caine

as Captain Douglas


Nigel Green movies nigel-green

Nigel Green

as Colonel Masters


Aly Ben Ayed movies aly-ben-ayed

Aly Ben Ayed

as Sadok


Enrique Avila movies enrique-avila

Enrique Avila

as Kalarides


Mohsen Ben Abdallah movies mohsen-ben-abdallah

Mohamed Kouka movies mohamed-kouka

Mohamed Kouka

as Assine


Takis Emmanuel movies takis-emmanuel

Takis Emmanuel

as Kostos Manou


Nigel Davenport movies nigel-davenport

Nigel Davenport

as Captain Leech


Harry Andrews movies harry-andrews

Harry Andrews

as Brigadier Blore


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Play Dirty

World War II (1936-1945)