Pork Chop Hill war movie
Pork Chop Hill war movie

Pork Chop Hill (1959, United States)

Categories: bombardment moviesinfantry moviestrenches movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: English


While the armistice negotiations in the Panmunjom were taking place the American army decided to make a counter-attack on the Pork Chop Hill, a fortified point on the front line of no strategic nor tactical value. Since the beginning Lieutenant Clemons has his doubts about the plan, especially the small forces used, but he was ensured that artillery prepared them the are adn wiped out all the barbed wire on this side of the hill. During the attack on the moonless night Clemons’ concerns were confirmed - the barbed wire is still there, when they reach them the Chinese army is just waiting for them with the spotlights. Soon the American attack falls into disorder, but with high casualties they manage to reach the top of the hill. But here is another bad news for them - Chinese wants to use their success on the hill in the armistice negotiations, so they prepare a large scale counter-attack.

Classic American war movie presenting one of the most controversial battles of Korean War - the Battle of Pork Chop Hill, where the fights and casualties were used just to get the advantage in the armistice negotiations. The powerful image of the sensless battles over the area no one really cares about is remarkable, with only few flaws. For example the propaganda ending suggesting that this battle gave people the freedom and thus was worth the casualties. Well, Chinese did regained the control over Pork Chop Hill in just 2 months after the battle depicted in the movie, so...




Our rating

8.0

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Pork Chop Hill full movie


full movie Pork Chop Hill full movie
full movie Pork Chop Hill on DVD


Creators of Pork Chop Hill

Lewis Milestone movies

Samuel Marshall movies

Samuel Marshall

screenplay


James Webb movies

James Webb

screenplay



Cast of Pork Chop Hill

Gregory Peck movies

Gregory Peck

as Lt. Joe Clemons


Norman Fell movies norman-fell

Norman Fell

as Sgt. Coleman


George Shibata movies george-shibata

George Shibata

as Lt. Suki Ohashi


Harry Guardino movies harry-guardino

Harry Guardino

as Pvt. Forstman


Rip Torn movies rip-torn

Rip Torn

as Lt. Walter Russel


George Peppard movies george-peppard

George Peppard

as Cpl. Chuck Fedderson


Bob Steele movies bob-steele

Bob Steele

as Col. Kern


Woody Strode movies woody-strode

Woody Strode

as Pvt. Franklin


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Pork Chop Hill

Korean War (1950-1953) Battle of Pork Chop Hill (23 Mar 1953)





Pork Chop Hill war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies