First Blood war movie
First Blood war movie

First Blood (1982, United States)

Original / alternative title: Rambo: First Blood

Categories: ambush moviescommandos moviespartisans moviesspecial forces movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: English


Vietnam War veteran John Rambo travels on foot through a small town Hope, Washington to meet his friend from the times they both served in the army. When he arrives to a secluded house he learns that his comrade have died from cancer caused by the exposure to Agent Orange during the war. Devastated with that news he leaves. While crossing the town again he is picked up by local sheriff, named Teasle, who assumes he is just a tramp, drives him to the edge of the town and tells him not to come back. Rambo chose not to take the advice, so Teasle arrests him and takes him to the station, where his deputies treat the veteran like scum. This triggers Ramboís memories from POW camp in Vietnam - he attacks the deputies and escapes from the station. Chased by the police he ends up in the woods, where he finally feels at home. During the chase deputies enter the woods and are ambushed one by one by Rambo, who uses improvised non-lethal weapons. When sheriff Teasle is the only one unharmed Rambo catches him and while holding a knife to his throat tells sheriff to stop the pursuit. Later he flees into the woods, but Teasle gathers additional forces and begins the hunt. Colonel Sam Trautman, former superior of Rambo, arrives to Hope and tries to persuade Teasle to drop the idea of hunting the veteran. He knows that Rambo is an expert in guerrilla warfare and was one of the best commandos he ever worked with, so he is more worried about people chasing him than for the veteran himself.

First Blood is one of the movies that became icons of war movies although there isnít actually any war depicted in it. Based on a novel the plot deals with one of the aftermaths of Vietnam War - the veterans, who returned home only to find that there is no one awaiting them and no way to deal with the emotional scars. Basically First Blood is just adventure flick (not as gore as the novel it is based on), but quickly it started the new way of showing commandos - not just as best soldiers, but as superhuman, who can single handedly deal with predominant enemy. Classic that is worth to know.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



First Blood full movie


full movie First Blood on DVD
full movie First Blood on BluRay
full movie First Blood full movie
full movie Rambo Trilogy


Creators of First Blood

Ted Kotcheff movies

Ted Kotcheff

director


David Morrell movies

David Morrell

screenplay


Michael Kozoll movies

Michael Kozoll

screenplay


William Sackheim movies

Sylvester Stallone movies


Cast of First Blood

Sylvester Stallone movies

Sylvester Stallone

as John Rambo


Brian Dennehy movies brian-dennehy

Brian Dennehy

as Sheriff Teasle


Richard Crenna movies richard-crenna

Richard Crenna

as Colonel Sam Trautman


Bill McKinney movies bill-mckinney

David Caruso movies david-caruso

David Caruso

as Mitch


Jack Starrett movies jack-starrett

Michael Talbott movies michael-talbott

Michael Talbott

as Balford


Chris Mulkey movies chris-mulkey

add comment

Comment below










First Blood war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Vietcong 2