Red Cliff war movie
Red Cliff war movie

Red Cliff (2008, China)

Original / alternative title: Chi bi

Categories: cavalry moviesinfantry moviesknights moviesnavy movies

Running time: 150 minutes

Language: Chinese (Mandarin)


Set during the Chinese Three Kingdoms period (220-280 A.D.) when two kingdoms have revolted against central power of Han Dynasty. The emperor sent south one of his warlords Cao Cao with vast army to destroy the rebels. But despite the disadvantage in the number of soldiers the rebels didnít plan to just surrender.

Chinese film made with spectacular effort in both visual side and depiction of the battles. Directed by John Woo it is impressive production, but also some faults derived from Asian cinematography - lack of realism during the action in battle scenes, but it is compensated by the overall quality of the movie and a lot of strategy and tactics presented on both sides.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Red Cliff full movie


full movie Red Cliff on BluRay


Creators of Red Cliff

John Woo movies

John Woo

director


John Woo movies

John Woo

screenplay


Khan Chan movies

Khan Chan

screenplay


Cheng Kuo movies

Cheng Kuo

screenplay


Heyu Sheng movies

Heyu Sheng

screenplay



Cast of Red Cliff

Tony Chiu Wai Leung movies tony-chiu-wai-leung

Takeshi Kaneshiro movies takeshi-kaneshiro

Takeshi Kaneshiro

as Zhuge Liang


Fengyi Zhang movies fengyi-zhang

Fengyi Zhang

as Cao Cao


Shido Nakamura movies shido-nakamura

Shido Nakamura

as Gan Xing


Chen Chang movies chen-chang

Chen Chang

as Sun Quan


Wei Zhao movies wei-zhao

Wei Zhao

as Sun Shangxiang


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Red Cliff

Three Kingdoms period (220-280) Battle of Red Cliffs ( 208)