Red Sky war movie
Red Sky war movie

Red Sky (2014, United States)

Categories: aircraft moviescovert operations moviesdogfight movies

Running time: 100 minutes

Language: English


While on patrol over Strait of Hormuz two US Navy airplanes receive air support request, the person who has contacted them passed the right clearance code for use of their weapons. They target is old factory building suspected to be the storehouse for weapons of mass destruction. Pilots use their missiles to destroy the building, but soon they discover that in fact they attacked the building while the international experts were inspecting the place. The court canít locate the person who gave the order, nor verify if the pilots were aware of that fact and both crews are dishonorable discharge from the service. They find the jobs in private sector, but after few years the story of their mission over Hormuz is returning to headquarters. The Iraqi secret weapon called Rainmaker was stolen from the building they have destroyed and American high level military officers are worried that it could be used by the terrorists located in Iran. Americans need to find and destroy it, but due to tensed situation around Persian Gulf it must be a covert operation. They plan to send the unmarked Russian fighters to fly over Iran and bomb the facility where the Rainmaker is located.

Film made in American-Russian cooperation with the support from both armies, which in current political situation seems like a poor joke, not to mention the choice of Mario Van Peebles as the director since he has absolutely no success stories in that area. The film itself is a mixture of adventure and one-dimensional characters, the plot is simple, but the in-flight scenes were made with decent effort. They are not really realistic, but still decently done. Overall it is lower than average war movie, although could be fun if you donít have high expectations.




Our rating

5.2

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Red Sky full movie


full movie Red Sky on DVD


Creators of Red Sky

Mario Van Peebles movies

Mario Van Peebles movies

Randy Arrington movies

Randy Arrington

screenplay


Adam Prince movies

Adam Prince

screenplay


Dave Riggs movies

Dave Riggs

screenplay


Nikolay Suslov movies

Nikolay Suslov

screenplay



Cast of Red Sky

Cam Gigandet movies cam-gigandet

Cam Gigandet

as Butch Masters


Shane West movies shane-west

Shane West

as Tom Craig


Rachael Leigh Cook movies rachael-leigh-cook

Rachael Leigh Cook

as Karen Brooks


Bill Pullman movies bill-pullman

Bill Pullman

as John Webster


Mario Van Peebles movies mario-van-peebles

Mario Van Peebles

as Jason Cutter


Brian Krause movies brian-krause

Brian Krause

as Michael Banks


Troy Garity movies troy-garity

Troy Garity

as Luke Babbineaux


Jason Gray-Stanford movies jason-gray-stanford

Jason Gray-Stanford

as Arliss Skidmore


Mariya Guzeeva movies mariya-guzeeva

Mariya Guzeeva

as Anna Zhukova


add comment

Comment below