Red Tails war movie
Red Tails war movie

Red Tails (2012, United States)

Categories: aircraft moviesmilitary base movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


The black pilots from Tuskagee join the European theater of World War 2, but they are used only in auxiliary missions patrolling the areas where enemy is not expected to be present. Their frustration combined with the segregation that is in full swing within the army makes them regret that they have joined the service. Their leader Colonel A.J. Bullard is trying to convince the superiors to give his pilots a chance in the combat mission, but high officers still think that black people are unable to fight as well as the white ones. Until one day the Tuskagee men are appointed to escort the bombers on their mission into enemy area. Although they were suppose to be relieved by more experienced squadrons, they did met the Germans for the first time. Despite the doubts the bomber crews had the Tuskagee men did managed to repel the enemy. Soon the red tails of their P-51 Mustangs were associated to bravery and efficiency.

Another film about the Tuskagee pilots, who were kept rather as propaganda tool than actual fighting unit and were denied the chance to prove their worth in battle. Unfortunately, despite the fact that George Lucas began developing Red Tails in late 1980s, or perhaps because of it, the movie is average at best. First of all it isnít historically accurate (even the veterans of Tuskagee had to clear the mess in the scenario), also the dialogues are cheesy, the characters are one-dimensional, the fight scenes also are far from being realistic (like the scene in which German pilot from miles away spots the red tails of Mustangs and already knows that it means black pilots) and overall the whole project lacks the originality.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Red Tails full movie


full movie Red Tails full movie
full movie Red Tails on DVD


Creators of Red Tails

Anthony Hemingway movies

John Ridley movies

John Ridley

screenplay


Aaron McGruder movies

Aaron McGruder

screenplay


John B. Holway movies

John B. Holway

screenplay



Cast of Red Tails

Terrence Howard movies terrence-howard

Terrence Howard

as Colonel Bullard


Cuba Gooding Jr movies cuba-gooding-jr

Cuba Gooding Jr

as Major Stance


Nate Parker movies nate-parker

David Oyelowo movies david-oyelowo

David Oyelowo

as Lightning


Tristan Wilds movies tristan-wilds

Tristan Wilds

as Junior


Elijah Kelley movies elijah-kelley

Bryan Cranston movies bryan-cranston

Bryan Cranston

as Colonel Mortamus


Gerald McRaney movies gerald-mcraney

Gerald McRaney

as Lieutenant General Luntz


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Red Tails

World War II (1936-1945)