Riphagen - The Untouchable war movie
Riphagen - The Untouchable war movie

Riphagen - The Untouchable (2016, Netherlands)

Original / alternative title: Riphagen

Categories: resistance moviesspy movies

Running time: 130 minutes

Language: Dutch / German


During German occupation of Holland Jews were arrested and sent to concentration camps after their houses and any valuables were taken away from them. Many of them went into hiding hoping that the resistance will be able to smuggle them out of the country. Dries Riphagen, a collaborator with German security service (SD), was among the Dutch policemen and citizens that helped the occupants find those Jews hiding in the attics, basements or hidden rooms. But Riphagen did something different - when he found elderly Jewish woman Esther Schaap hiding in one of the buildings, he did not handed her over to the Germans. Instead he found her a safe place to stay in one of the buildings already taken by the Jewish Emigration Office. Esther is suspicious, she does not understand why Riphagen is helping her, but in her current situation she has no choice. He took part of her jewellery for the Germans, so he could explain his superiors he did not found any Jews, but managed to secure some of their wealth, while rest of it he will keep in safe place for her. With time Esther begins to trust Riphagen and even helps him find other Jews, who could use his help.

Film based on true story of Dries Riphagen, who during the war was Nazi collaborator, but at the same time was carrying out his own plans risking being caught by the Germans if they find the jewellery in his possession or being killed by the resistance, who did not knew was exactly he was doing outside of SD. The story is told in such way that for a while it is hard to be sure who is on which side and who is just pretending to be someone else, which was always the problem in the resistance movements. Even though film is based on the true story the creators managed to keep it interesting, but during the post-war part of the story it loses pace and the element of mystery. Apart from that very good war movie.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Riphagen - The Untouchable videos


Riphagen - The Untouchable




Creators of Riphagen - The Untouchable

Pieter Kuijpers movies

Thomas van der Ree movies

Paul Jan Nelissen movies


Cast of Riphagen - The Untouchable

Jeroen van Koningsbrugge movies jeroen-van-koningsbrugge

Jeroen van Koningsbrugge

as Dries Riphagen


Lisa Zweerman movies lisa-zweerman

Lisa Zweerman

as Greetje Ros


Anna Raadsveld movies anna-raadsveld

Anna Raadsveld

as Bella Tuerlings


Kay Greidanus movies kay-greidanus

Kay Greidanus

as Jan van Liempd


Michel Sluysmans movies michel-sluysmans

Michel Sluysmans

as Wim Sanders


Huub Smit movies huub-smit

Huub Smit

as Toon Kuijper


Peter Blok movies peter-blok

Peter Blok

as Gert van der Veen


Sigrid ten Napel movies sigrid-ten-napel

Sieger Sloot movies sieger-sloot

Sieger Sloot

as Frits Kerkhoven


Bob Stoop movies bob-stoop

Bob Stoop

as Charly Hartog


Guido Pollemans movies guido-pollemans

Guido Pollemans

as Harry Rond


Micha Hulshof movies micha-hulshof

Micha Hulshof

as Albert Kok


Antoinette Jelgersma movies antoinette-jelgersma

Antoinette Jelgersma

as Esther Schaap


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Riphagen - The Untouchable

World War II (1936-1945)







Themes in Riphagen - The Untouchable

Dutch resistance

Riphagen - The Untouchable war movie © 2013-2018 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 10 war movies