Run Silent Run Deep war movie
Run Silent Run Deep war movie

Run Silent Run Deep (1958, United States)

Categories: navy moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: English


New captain is appointed to take over submarine USS Nerka. The crew is disappointed with that decision, they were hoping that Lieutenant Jim Bledsoe, who was second in command, would be promoted. Bledsoe is angry too, especially when he discovers that his new captain will be someone who wasnít in active service for months. Commander P.J. Richardson, the new captain, was chosen for a reason - he was commanding a submarine that was sunk in a Bungo Straits (a channel between Japanese islands of Kyushu and Shikoku) and was appointed as more experienced officer.

During the patrol Richardson pushes the crew to the limits by ordering constant drills to cut down the time of submerging the boat. Bledsoe has to stop crewmembers from revolting, but when he finds out that Richardson is planning to go to Bungo Straits and sink the destroyer nicknamed Bungo Pete responsible for sinking several American submarines (including Richardsonís sub few months ago) he also starts to doubt in new captain.

Just like in few other American submarine movies the level of relism in Run Silent Run Deep is rather low and the conflict between Richardson and Bledsoe is the main part of the movie. But to be honest it doesnít really lower the value of the film - good cast and interesting plot wonít disappont the viewers.




Our rating

5.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Run Silent Run Deep full movie


full movie Run Silent Run Deep on DVD


Creators of Run Silent Run Deep

Robert Wise movies

Robert Wise

director


John Gay movies

John Gay

screenplay


Edward L. Beach movies

Edward L. Beach

screenplay



Cast of Run Silent Run Deep

Clark Gable movies clark-gable

Clark Gable

as Commander Richardson


Burt Lancaster movies burt-lancaster

Burt Lancaster

as Lieutenant Jim Bledsoe


Brad Dexter movies brad-dexter

Brad Dexter

as Ensign Cartwright


Don Rickles movies don-rickles

Don Rickles

as Quartermaster Ruby


Nick Cravat movies nick-cravat

Nick Cravat

as Russo


Jack Warden movies jack-warden

Jack Warden

as Yeoman Mueller


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Run Silent Run Deep

World War II (1936-1945)





Run Silent Run Deep war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Polish-Teutonic War