Saints and Soldiers war movie
Saints and Soldiers war movie

Saints and Soldiers (2003, United States)

Categories: winter moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 85 minutes

Language: English


In December 1944 offensive in Ardennes surprised Allied forces, but quickly advancing Germans did not have time nor resources to deal with complicated things like prisoners. American soldiers near Malmedy were killed by the Nazi troops even though they were prisoners of war. Four of the survivors fled into the woods, where chased by the enemy they had to hide. Corporal Greer, called Deacon due to his priest-like way of life, manages to take the weapon away from German soldier, but he doesn’t shoot him. He lets the enemy go and together with others run away. Now, armed with single rifle and three bullets they have to find a way of surviving behind enemy lines. They found a crashed ambulance with some rations in it, but dead bodies next to it suggest Germans just kill every soldier on the spot. Somewhere in the secluded area of the forest they find an abandoned building in poor condition, but for them this means salvation - the winter is very cold and anything that would help them keep warm is priceless. While the night is approaching German armoured vehicle arrives to the building - it looks like both sides are desperate to find a warm place to rest. The Americans hide below the floorboards and have to wait in complete silence until the Germans will decide to leave.

American war movie based loosely on true events that happened in December 1944 near Malmedy - after the massacres (there were several in area, not only in Malmedy) some of the survivors were forced to hide behind enemy lines and try to reach the Allied forces. While the story itself is more or less fiction, the whole concept was based on the different American soldiers stories from Battle of the Bulde. Overall the film was average - not bad, not great, just simple war time story with anti-war and religious undertones. Taking under consideration that the whole budget of this production was below 1 million USD and some of the parts were taken by military battles re-enactors you couldn’t really expect it to be much more than average war movie.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Saints and Soldiers full movie


full movie Saints and Soldiers on DVD


Saints and Soldiers videos


Saints and Soldiers




Creators of Saints and Soldiers

Ryan Little movies

Ryan Little

director


Geoffrey Panos movies

Geoffrey Panos

screenplay


Matt Whitaker movies

Matt Whitaker

screenplay



Cast of Saints and Soldiers

Corbin Allred movies corbin-allred

Corbin Allred

as Corporal Nathan Greer


Alexander Polinsky movies alexander-polinsky

Alexander Polinsky

as Medic Steven Gould


Larry Bagby movies larry-bagby

Larry Bagby

as Private Shirley Kendrick


Peter Holden movies peter-holden

Peter Holden

as Sergeant Gordon Gunderson


Kirby Heyborne movies kirby-heyborne

Kirby Heyborne

as Flight Sergeant Oberon Winley


Ethan Vincent movies ethan-vincent

Ethan Vincent

as Rudolph Gertz


Melinda Renee movies melinda-renee

Melinda Renee

as Catherine Theary


Ruby Chase movies ruby-chase

Ruby Chase

as Sophie Theary


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Saints and Soldiers

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944)







Themes in Saints and Soldiers

American infantryGerman armyMalmedy massacre



War movies like Saints and Soldiers

Windtalkers 2002 war movie

Windtalkers (2002)

Film based on a true story of Navajo Indians, who were used during the World War 2 as translators to send coded messages between units on Pacific using their native language, which made it impossible for the Japanese to decode them.

Age of Heroes 2011 war movie

Age of Heroes (2011)

British commandos unit on the mission in Norway to gather informations about German radar installations. Story based on real events that involved famous author Ian Fleming.

Manhunt 2012 war movie

Manhunt (2012)

Wydra, Polish partisan, is the executioner in his unit. That job with time killed all the human emotions in him, but his next target is someone he knows - manager of local mill, who is suspected of being Nazi collaborator.

Where is the General? 1963 war movie

Where is the General? (1963)

Clumsy private that jinx his whole unit stumbles upon a castle with cellar full of wine and also accidentally arrests the German general that is hiding there from Soviet Army.

Saints and Soldiers war movie © 2013-2018 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog spy games