War movies

War movies often show the worts times in the history of human kind, but even in those times the humanity sometimes was able to overcome to gore and horror. Some of the war movies present the soldiers on the front, sometime the civilians that suffer during the war. As someone one said in war there are no atheists - war affects everyone.



Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

Saving Private Ryan war movie
Saving Private Ryan war movie
Saving Private Ryan war movie

Saving Private Ryan war movie

1998

Saving Private Ryan (1998, United States)

Categories: ambush moviesinfantry movieslanding moviessniper moviesurban warfare movies



Running time: 170 minutes

Language: English


D-Day, the turning point of World War 2, is about to begin - American landing troops approach the Omaha Beach in landing crafts that can’t give much protection against German mortats and machine guns, but what awaits the GIs on the beach is much worse. The vast open space with nowhere to hide apart from the simple wooden or metal constructions left by Germans to prevent the landing of armored forces. Captain John H. Miller of Rangers leads his platoon during the attack with single mission - break out of the beach and open passage for incoming reinforcements. Meantime in Washington D.C, General George Marshall receives information that three, out of four, Ryan brothers serving in the army were killed in action same day. He is determined to bring back the fourth of brothers, Private James Ryan, safely back home. Ryan was one of the paratroopers dropped over Normandy and his current wereabouts are unknown. Captain Miller and his men, are given the order to find Ryan and securely deliver him to a Allied territory, so he can be shipped home. Rangers are not so keen to join the search party - they see no sense in risking their own lives saving one private while tousands of men just died on the beaches and all over Normandy, but Miller sets out to fulfill his duty. The problem is that just days after D-Day there is chaos in the Allied forces and no unit is exactly where it was expected to be. Not to mention that the area is not fully secured from retreating German forces.

Movie famous for it’s unique and realistic style in presenting the Omaha Beach landings and the combat all over Normandy. The camerawork, the directing and the whole production set the standards that in later years were copied by a lot of war movies creators, but most of them failed in reaching such level of realism and authenticity without sinking into a gore-fest. The only productions that came close to that target were Band of Brothers (which is one of the best war movies ever), Enemy at the Gates and Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, although the last one is completely different. With involving plot, good cast and spectacular camerawork it is one of the most remarkable war movies in history.


Our rating

9.6 / 10


Film value

9 / 10


Realism factor

5 / 5


Adventure factor

5 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

5 / 5



add comment

Comment below







Creators of Saving Private Ryan


Cast of Saving Private Ryan

Tom Hanks movies
as Captain Miller

Tom Sizemore movies tom-sizemore
as Sergeant Horvath

Edward Burns movies edward-burns
as Private Reiben

Adam Goldberg movies adam-goldberg
as Private Mellish

Barry Pepper movies barry-pepper
as Private Jackson

Vin Diesel movies vin-diesel
as Private Caparzo

Giovanni Ribisi movies giovanni-ribisi
as Medic Wade

Jeremy Davies movies jeremy-davies
as Corporal Upham

Matt Damon movies matt-damon
as Private Ryan

Ted Danson movies ted-danson
as Captain Hamill

Paul Giamatti movies paul-giamatti
as Sergeant Hill

Dennis Farina movies dennis-farina
as Lieutenant Colonel Anderson


Events depicted in Saving Private Ryan

World War II (1936-1945) D-Day (6 Jun 1944)