Saving Private Ryan war movie
Saving Private Ryan war movie

Saving Private Ryan (1998, United States)

Categories: ambush moviesinfantry movieslanding moviessniper moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 170 minutes

Language: English


D-Day, the turning point of World War 2, is about to begin - American landing troops approach the Omaha Beach in landing crafts that canít give much protection against German mortats and machine guns, but what awaits the GIs on the beach is much worse. The vast open space with nowhere to hide apart from the simple wooden or metal constructions left by Germans to prevent the landing of armored forces. Captain John H. Miller of Rangers leads his platoon during the attack with single mission - break out of the beach and open passage for incoming reinforcements. Meantime in Washington D.C, General George Marshall receives information that three, out of four, Ryan brothers serving in the army were killed in action same day. He is determined to bring back the fourth of brothers, Private James Ryan, safely back home. Ryan was one of the paratroopers dropped over Normandy and his current wereabouts are unknown. Captain Miller and his men, are given the order to find Ryan and securely deliver him to a Allied territory, so he can be shipped home. Rangers are not so keen to join the search party - they see no sense in risking their own lives saving one private while tousands of men just died on the beaches and all over Normandy, but Miller sets out to fulfill his duty. The problem is that just days after D-Day there is chaos in the Allied forces and no unit is exactly where it was expected to be. Not to mention that the area is not fully secured from retreating German forces.

Movie famous for itís unique and realistic style in presenting the Omaha Beach landings and the combat all over Normandy. The camerawork, the directing and the whole production set the standards that in later years were copied by a lot of war movies creators, but most of them failed in reaching such level of realism and authenticity without sinking into a gore-fest. The only productions that came close to that target were Band of Brothers (which is one of the best war movies ever), Enemy at the Gates and Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, although the last one is completely different. With involving plot, good cast and spectacular camerawork it is one of the most remarkable war movies in history.




Our rating

9.6

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Saving Private Ryan full movie


full movie Saving Private Ryan full movie
full movie Saving Private Ryan on DVD
full movie Saving Private Ryan on BluRay
full movie Szeregowiec Ryan DVD


Saving Private Ryan videos


Saving Private Ryan




Creators of Saving Private Ryan

Steven Spielberg movies

Robert Rodat movies

Robert Rodat

screenplay



Cast of Saving Private Ryan

Tom Hanks movies

Tom Hanks

as Captain Miller


Tom Sizemore movies tom-sizemore

Tom Sizemore

as Sergeant Horvath


Edward Burns movies edward-burns

Edward Burns

as Private Reiben


Adam Goldberg movies adam-goldberg

Adam Goldberg

as Private Mellish


Barry Pepper movies barry-pepper

Barry Pepper

as Private Jackson


Vin Diesel movies vin-diesel

Vin Diesel

as Private Caparzo


Giovanni Ribisi movies giovanni-ribisi

Giovanni Ribisi

as Medic Wade


Jeremy Davies movies jeremy-davies

Jeremy Davies

as Corporal Upham


Matt Damon movies matt-damon

Matt Damon

as Private Ryan


Ted Danson movies ted-danson

Ted Danson

as Captain Hamill


Paul Giamatti movies paul-giamatti

Paul Giamatti

as Sergeant Hill


Dennis Farina movies dennis-farina

Dennis Farina

as Lieutenant Colonel Anderson


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Saving Private Ryan

World War II (1936-1945) D-Day (6 Jun 1944)







Saving Private Ryan trivia


D-Day veterans

D-Day veterans praised Saving Private Ryan for the realistic presentation of how the landing looked like from their point of view - chaos, gore and paralysing fear - they were all very young men at that time and this was shocking experience for them and the landing scene in the movie brought that memories back. The situation evolved to the extent that Department of Veterans Affairs have set up a special "800" line to help D-Day veterans with the renewed trauma after watching Saving Private Ryan.



Charles Durning

Actor Charles Durning was a D-Day Omaha Beach survivor, but until he watched Saving Private Ryan for the first time he never told anyone, even his family or friends, what happened that day. After watching the landing scene he broke down and for the first time spoke about June 6th 1944.





Saving Private Ryan quotes


Private Reiben:
I got a bad feeling about this one.
Captain Miller:
When was the last time you felt good about anything?


Saving Private Ryan war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Canadian war movies