Shaka Zulu war movie
Shaka Zulu war movie

Shaka Zulu (1986, South Africa)

Categories: infantry moviespolitical moviesfantasy movies

Running time: 500 minutes

Language: English


In early 19th century British colonists in southern Africa were alarmed about military power raising nearby - the Zulus under king Shaka conquered other tribes and turned the Natal into area white people are afraid to enter. Ivory dealer, Lieutenant Francis Farewell, is determined to establish a port in Natal - the region is full of elephants and he could make a fortune. Farewell’s ship sank near the coast of Natal, but he was among the survivors of the shipwreck. Unit of Zulu warriors approached them at the beach - for both sides it was a shock, most of the Zulus did not meet white people before, while for the Europeans it was first time they saw the infamous conquerors of Natal. Farewell and his companions were taken to the village of Shaka, the king of Zulus that turned his tribe into huge military power. On the way Dr. Henry Fynn, who was chronicler of the expedition, saved girl that was about to be buried - he noticed that she is still alive and cured her illness, which made the Zulus believe he is a witch-doctor. Farewell planned to make use of that believe - surrounded by thousands of Zulu warriors it was in their best interest to find any advantage over Shaka. Once they reached the king’s village the game between Shaka and the Europeans begins, the human lives and the future of the continent is in stake.

South African miniseries about the expedition of Lieutenant Farewell into Natal ruthlessly rules by infamous Shaka. They were the first Europeans to meet the king and learn about his cult-like empire, but the sophistication of Shaka and his approach to many things was surprise for them. To that point they knew him only by his fame, but when they learnt the whole story of his life it gave them look into the culture and the background behind Shaka as a warrior and leader. The miniseries tells the story of the Farewell expedition and the life story of Shaka from the point he was young boy and together with his mother had to fight for survival. While the episodes covered a lot of material and wide range of topics (from politics to romance and magic) it also shows how Shaka changed the face of the war in Africa: introduced improved weapons, superior tactics and ruthlessly attacked his enemies step by step building the power that will few decades later match the British colonial forces in South Africa in Anglo-Zulu War. Made with a lot of effort it is impressive production, although in some parts lacks the pace.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Shaka Zulu full movie


full movie Shaka Zulu on DVD
full movie Shaka Zulu on DVD


Shaka Zulu videos


Shaka Zulu




Creators of Shaka Zulu

William C. Faure movies

Joshua Sinclair movies

Joshua Sinclair

screenplay



Cast of Shaka Zulu

Henry Cele movies henry-cele

Henry Cele

as Shaka


Edward Fox movies

Edward Fox

as Lt. Francis Farewell


Robert Powell movies robert-powell

Robert Powell

as Dr. Henry Fynn


Dudu Mkhize movies dudu-mkhize

Dudu Mkhize

as Nandi


Conrad Magwaza movies conrad-magwaza

Conrad Magwaza

as Senzagakona


Patrick Ndlovu movies patrick-ndlovu

Roland Mqwebu movies roland-mqwebu

Roland Mqwebu

as Ngomane


Washington Sixolo movies washington-sixolo

Daphney Hlomuka movies daphney-hlomuka

Daphney Hlomuka

as Queen Ntombazi


Tu Nokwe movies tu-nokwe

Tu Nokwe

as Pampata


Trevor Howard movies

Trevor Howard

as Lord Charles Henry Somerset


Christopher Lee movies

Christopher Lee

as Lord Bathurst


add comment

Comment below












Shaka Zulu quotes


Shaka:
Never leave an enemy behind or it will rise again to fly at your throat.




Themes in Shaka Zulu

Zulu warriors



War movies like Shaka Zulu

Zulu 1964 war movie

Zulu (1964)

British soldiers in the secluded outpost in the middle of Africa have to face the army of Zulus.

Zulu Dawn 1979 war movie

Zulu Dawn (1979)

True events surrounding the biggest defeat of British in Zulu War - the Battle of Isandlwana.