Sisters of War war movie
Sisters of War war movie

Sisters of War (2010, Australia)

Categories: POW camp movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: English / Japanese


In 1942 when Japanese forces invaded Papua New Guinea on the nearby island New Britain small Catholic mission Vunapope has to give shelter to Australian soldiers that are retreating from the invasion forces. Soon Japanese reach that place and establish prisoners of war camp. Polish-born bishop Scharmach manages to convince the Japanese officers that this mission is in fact German territory under protection of Hitler himself. This protects the nurses and nuns from Japanese aggression and massacre. Instead they have to take care of the wounded Australians. Film follows the life and friendship of two of them - Lorna Whyte and Sister Berenice Twohill that started the unlike friendship in those dark days.

Interesting movie based on real events and real fate of the both main characters. It tells the often forgotten stories of nurses and nuns that were captured by Japanese army in Rabaoul. Their fate was often even worse than the soldiers on the front line and they had to face dangers unknown to the soldiers.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Sisters of War full movie


full movie Sisters of War on DVD


Creators of Sisters of War

Brendan Maher movies

John Misto movies

John Misto

screenplay



Cast of Sisters of War

Claire van der Boom movies claire-van-der-boom

Claire van der Boom

as Sister Berenice Twohill


Sarah Snook movies sarah-snook

Sarah Snook

as Lorna Whyte


Anna Volska movies anna-volska

Anna Volska

as Sister Cordula


Gerald Lepkowski movies gerald-lepkowski

Gerald Lepkowski

as Bishop Leo Scharmach


Susie Porter movies susie-porter

Susie Porter

as Kay Parker


Kuni Hashimoto movies kuni-hashimoto

Kuni Hashimoto

as Japanese Captain


Ken Makio movies ken-makio

Ken Makio

as Suzuki


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Sisters of War

World War II (1936-1945)