Sometimes in April war movie
Sometimes in April war movie

Sometimes in April (2005, United States)

Categories: political moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 130 minutes

Language: English


It’s been 10 years since civil war and genocide left Rwanda in shock and rest of the world in shame. Former Rwandan soldier Augustin Muganza, now working as a teacher in Kigali, receives a letter from his brother, Honore, who awaits a trial in tribunal for war crimes. They haven’t spoke in years and for a reason - when the tension arose in the country in 1994 they were on two sides of the barricade. Honore was a journalist in radio that spread the Hutu propaganda and was one of the factors behind genocide, while Augustin was on the list of Hutu militia as a traitor of his people since he married a Tutsi woman. When president of Rwanda is killed the horror on the streets begin - militia armed with machetes and guns attacks the Tutsi and dead bodies are everywhere. Augustin is desperate to save his family and asks Honore for help - the roadblocks are everywhere and anyone, who doesn’t have ID with mark "Hutu" in it is killed on the spot. Honore is well known as the Hutu propaganda advocate and thus could cross the lines without being checked. Reluctantly Honore agrees to take the wide and kids while Augustin and his fellow army officer stay behind. The car driven by Honore is stopped on military roadblock and people inside are dragged out. Even though it’s been 10 years Augustin still doesn’t know what happened to his wife and sons.

War movie dedicated to Rwandan genocide, in a way similar to Hotel Rwanda, although the main story in Sometimes in April is fiction. Just like in Hotel Rwanda we see the desperation of the civilians trapped in the city where armed mob hunts down the Tutsi and kill everyone without hesitation. Through the fate of few of them we look at the horror that was the reality in Kigali for 3 months, but unlike Hotel Rwanda in Sometimes in April we also see how American administration of president Clinton did to stop the genocide and how they were trying to wiggle out of actually making even a tiny effort that could have saved hundreds of thousands of people in Rwanda. Even though the story is fiction and creators avoided showing the explicit details of the war crimes that took place in the streets of Kigali it is as moving and as shocking as Hotel Rwanda if not more.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Sometimes in April full movie


full movie Sometimes in April on DVD


Sometimes in April videos


Sometimes in April




Creators of Sometimes in April

Raoul Peck movies

Raoul Peck

director


Raoul Peck movies

Raoul Peck

screenplay



Cast of Sometimes in April

Idris Elba movies idris-elba

Idris Elba

as Augustin Muganza


Oris Erhuero movies oris-erhuero

Oris Erhuero

as Honore Muganza


Carole Karemera movies carole-karemera

Fraser James movies fraser-james

Fraser James

as Xavier


Pamela Nomvete movies pamela-nomvete

Pamela Nomvete

as Martine


Debra Winger movies debra-winger

Debra Winger

as Prudence Bushnell


Abby Mukiibi Nkaaga movies abby-mukiibi-nkaaga

Abby Mukiibi Nkaaga

as Colonel Bagosora


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Sometimes in April

Rwandan Civil War (1990-1994)







Sometimes in April quotes


Prudence Bushnell:
Monsieur Bagasora, if you do not stop the killing there will be consequences.
Colonel Bagosora:
Really? You will send the marines? We have no oil here, no dams, we have nothing you need in Rwanda. Why would you come?


Prudence Bushnell:
If the killing in Rwanda starts, the best case scenario estimates 20,000 dead. The worst case scenario could exceed 500,000. That’s the January 25th, 1994, C.I.A. report. That’s just nine weeks ago, Sir.
Bushnell’s Superior:
I don’t want to talk about any C.I.A. report again.


Sometimes in April war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog world war 2 movies