Southern Comfort war movie
Southern Comfort war movie

Southern Comfort (1981, United States)

Categories: ambush moviesinfantry moviesjungle movies

Running time: 105 minutes

Language: English / French


In 1973 during exercise in Louisiana swamp platoon led by Poole is given rather simple part - get from point A to point B on time. Of course anywhere else it would be a simple exercise, but in swamp area there are no simple routes. When they realise they are lost they stumble upon a hut in the middle of the swamps and take the canoes found nearby. In the middle of the river they notice some people, most probably looking for their canoes. Obviously they donít speak English, so the platoon canít communicate with them. One of the guardsmen, Stuckey, shoots some blanks for fun in the direction of the canoe owners. In return Poole is shot in the head and the platoon has to run away. This is the beginning of their fight for survival against local Cajun people.

Southern Comfort is one of those war movie, where actually there isnít any war, although the plot is heavily based on the Vietnam War concept - group of Americans with their ignorance and arrogance move into the area of Cajun people knowing nothing about the local reality and culture and try to use force to solve their problems. Overall the movie was complete failure in the box office, but in fact it isnít bad survival movie set in the mysterious and often spooky surroundings of rural bayou country in Louisiana.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Southern Comfort full movie


full movie Southern Comfort on DVD


Creators of Southern Comfort

Walter Hill movies

Walter Hill

director


Walter Hill movies

Walter Hill

screenplay


Michael Kane movies

Michael Kane

screenplay


David Giler movies

David Giler

screenplay



Cast of Southern Comfort

Keith Carradine movies keith-carradine

Keith Carradine

as Spencer


Powers Boothe movies

Powers Boothe

as Hardin


Fred Ward movies fred-ward

Fred Ward

as Reece


Franklyn Seales movies franklyn-seales

T.K. Carter movies t.k.-carter

T.K. Carter

as Cribbs


Lewis Smith movies lewis-smith

Lewis Smith

as Stuckey


Les Lannom movies les-lannom

Les Lannom

as Casper


Peter Coyote movies peter-coyote

Peter Coyote

as Poole


Brion James movies brion-james

Brion James

as Cajun Trapper


add comment

Comment below










Southern Comfort war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Great Roman Civil War