Squadron war movie
Squadron war movie

Squadron (1992, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Szwadron

Categories: cavalry moviesresistance movies

Running time: 100 minutes

Language: Russian / Polish


During the Polish November Uprising the unit of Russian cavalry is sent to bring the order in the area, where the insurgents are active. Among the officers is Baron Fyodor Jeremin, young and naive arristocrat, who volunteered to join the army hoping to forget being rejected by a girl. But the fight against Polish insurgents isnít what he epxected to be - instead of glorious battles they ride around villages and hunt the outnumbered and poorly armed survivors of the insurgents units supported by the local inhabitants. Soon he will have to face the even darker reality when his superior starts to avenge the killed soldiers by killing the civilians.

One of the very few Polish war movies that was not infected with the "glorious patriotic past" virus. What we have here is the wide range of attitude the people have during the uprising - Russian officers, who obey the rules, but sometimes just have enough of the constant threat, civilians who support the uprising, but donít want to confront the Russians, civilians who doesnít support the uprising, but donít want to confront the insurgents and the people why stood up and fight the fight that is doomed to failure.

Very good war movie impartially showing the face of Polish November Uprising.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Squadron full movie


full movie Squadron on DVD


Creators of Squadron

Juliusz Machulski movies

Juliusz Machulski movies

Stanislaw Rembek movies


Cast of Squadron

Radoslaw Pazura movies radoslaw-pazura

Radoslaw Pazura

as Fyodor Jeremin


Janusz Gajos movies janusz-gajos

Janusz Gajos

as Dobrowolski


Jan Machulski movies

Jan Machulski

as Markowski


Sergey Shakurov movies sergey-shakurov

Aleksey Serebryakov movies aleksey-serebryakov

Aleksey Serebryakov

as Jemelianow


Tomasz Stockinger movies tomasz-stockinger

Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu movies bernard-pierre-donnadieu

add comment

Comment below







Squadron comments


A really first class film, pity there is no English Subtitles or version which could reach a wider audience
Bazz (03-01-2017 17:15:58)




Events depicted in Squadron

Polish November Uprising (1830-1831)