Stalag 17 war movie
Stalag 17 war movie

Stalag 17 (1953, United States)

Categories: mystery moviesPOW camp movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English / German


Winter 1944, somewhere in Austria, prisoners of war camp Stalag 17 is full of American airmen. They organize an escape of 2 prisoners, Manfredi and Johnson, through the tunnel, but both of them end up dead. The Americans are suspecting that there is a traitor among them that informs Germans.

Film based on a stage play written by two actual prisoners of Stalag 17B Donald Bevan and Edmund Trzcinski. Stalag 17 is a character drama set in the prisoners of war camp with elements of humor. The plot is involving and entertaining even though the whole movie takes place within a single barrack and just few scenes outside. Definately worth to know, but the whole outlook has more to do with Hoganís Heroes than historical events.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Stalag 17 full movie


full movie Stalag 17 on DVD


Creators of Stalag 17

Billy Wilder movies

Billy Wilder

director


Billy Wilder movies

Billy Wilder

screenplay


Edwin Blum movies

Edwin Blum

screenplay


Edmund Trzcinski movies

Donald Bevan movies

Donald Bevan

screenplay



Cast of Stalag 17

William Holden movies william-holden

Don Taylor movies don-taylor

Don Taylor

as Dunbar


Robert Strauss movies robert-strauss

Harvey Lembeck movies harvey-lembeck

Harvey Lembeck

as Shapiro


Otto Preminger movies otto-preminger

Otto Preminger

as Commandant


Richard Erdman movies richard-erdman

Peter Graves movies peter-graves

Peter Graves

as Price


Neville Brand movies neville-brand

Sig Ruman movies sig-ruman

Sig Ruman

as Schulz


Gil Stratton movies gil-stratton

Gil Stratton

as Cookie


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Stalag 17

World War II (1936-1945)