Stalingrad war movie
Stalingrad war movie

Stalingrad (1993, Germany)

Categories: infantry moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies

Running time: 135 minutes

Language: German / Russian

Locations:
the story takes place in VolgogradVolgogradRussia



In 1942 a German unit is moved from Italy where they were recuperating to the most bloody battle of the conflict - the Stalingrad. They have to adapt quickly to the extreme conditions they will fight in - the city is in ruins, Russians have almost unlimited number of soldiers to fight, artillery is hitting the buildings from both sides. But with time they all realize that Stalingrad is not gonna be another easy win for the German army.

Film depicts the change in German attitude during the battle of Stalingrad - from bold young soldiers dashing in train through the endless fields of Ukraine, the tough urban warfare in the demolished city to depserate fight for life when the 6th Army was surrounded in Stalingrad and complete chaos when they knew there is no help for them.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Stalingrad full movie


full movie Stalingrad full movie
full movie Stalingrad on DVD


Creators of Stalingrad

Joseph Vilsmaier movies

Joseph Vilsmaier movies

Jurgen Buscher movies

Jurgen Buscher

screenplay


Johannes Heide movies

Johannes Heide

screenplay



Cast of Stalingrad

Dominique Horwitz movies dominique-horwitz

Dominique Horwitz

as Fritz Reiser


Thomas Kretschmann movies thomas-kretschmann

Thomas Kretschmann

as Hans von Witzland


Jochen Nickel movies jochen-nickel

Sebastian Rudolph movies sebastian-rudolph

Martin Benrath movies martin-benrath

Martin Benrath

as General Hentz


Sylvester Groth movies sylvester-groth

Karel Hermanek movies karel-hermanek

Karel Hermanek

as Hauptmann Musk


Dana Vavrova movies dana-vavrova

Dana Vavrova

as Irina


Heinz Emigholz movies heinz-emigholz

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Stalingrad

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Stalingrad (23 Aug 1942)