Starship Troopers war movie
Starship Troopers war movie

Starship Troopers (1997, United States)

Categories: infantry movieslast stand moviesscience fiction moviesspace wars movies

Running time: 130 minutes

Language: English


During the exploration of far planets Earth colonists are attacked by insectoid creatures. The species, called by humans Arachnids, are extremely deadly and itís hard to find any background informations that would explain why they attack people, the only suspicion is that they have reacted on the intrusion of human kind. Nevertheless military forces prepare expedition to Klendathu planet, which is believed to be the hatchery of Arachnids. There are plenty of volunteers to join the operation - citizenship is privilege on Earth and one of the ways to earn it is through military service. Among the volunteers are young friends John Rico and Carl Jenkins, who join the troopers, Johnís girlfriend Carmen trains to be a pilot. During the journey to Klendathu love and passion of the young hearts take over and during their training they canít avoid mistakes. Soon they learn that their families are dead, killed by the asteroid launched by the Arachnids. From that point they realize that the war is not a game, even if enemy is far away. The first battle on Klendathu shows them that the insectoids not only are hard to kill, but they do have a some sort of intelligence planning their moves.

Adaptation of Robert A. Heinlein novel is a mixture of science fiction, war movie, action flick and (unfortunately) the puppy love story. Even though we have here quite interesting main motive of the mission to far planet inhabited by the deadly insectoids the plot has huge loopholes (like whatís the point of sending troops with light armament since insectoids are almost immune to their bullets), the script lacks depth, the battle scenes are a bit of a joke and overall it is very disappointing production. There were few good scenes that could have saved the movie, but it seems that creators tried to put too much elements in one production and in the end just failed not make a mess of it.




Our rating

4.0

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

1 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Starship Troopers full movie


full movie Starship Troopers full movie
full movie Starship Troopers on BluRay
full movie Starship Troopers read online


Creators of Starship Troopers

Paul Verhoeven movies

Edward Neumeier movies

Edward Neumeier

screenplay


Robert A. Heinlein movies


Cast of Starship Troopers

Casper Van Dien movies casper-van-dien

Casper Van Dien

as Johnny Rico


Dina Meyer movies dina-meyer

Dina Meyer

as Dizzy Flores


Jake Busey movies jake-busey

Jake Busey

as Ace Levy


Denise Richards movies denise-richards

Denise Richards

as Carmen Ibanez


Neil Patrick Harris movies neil-patrick-harris

Neil Patrick Harris

as Carl Jenkins


Clancy Brown movies clancy-brown

Clancy Brown

as Sergeant Zim


Michael Ironside movies michael-ironside

add comment

Comment below










Starship Troopers war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog world war 2 movies