Story of G.I. Joe war movie
Story of G.I. Joe war movie

Story of G.I. Joe (1945, United States)

Categories: infantry moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 110 minutes

Language: English / Italian


War correspondent Ernie Pyle joins Company C, 18th Infantry Regiment as they have been moved to Italy after fighting in North Africa. In Italy Pyle describes everyday life of simple GIs - the hot, cold, rain, mud, endless marching and waiting.

Film based on works of Pulitzer Prize-winner Ernie Pyle, who was war correspondent in Africa, Italy and Pacific (where he died in combat). The concept of movie showing the real life of American infantrymen was innovatory - we donít see them as heroes conucting crusade in Europe, but we wee their normal life - when the march towards next city, when they eat, when they hide in the rain, when they talk in the shadow of the trees.

Interesting movie based on a real life events depicted in Ernie Pyleís columns published in American newspapers during the war.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Story of G.I. Joe full movie


full movie Story of G.I. Joe on DVD


Creators of Story of G.I. Joe

William A.  Wellman movies

Ernie Pyle movies

Ernie Pyle

screenplay


Leopold Atlas movies

Leopold Atlas

screenplay


Guy Endore movies

Guy Endore

screenplay


Philip Stevenson movies


Cast of Story of G.I. Joe

Burgess Meredith movies burgess-meredith

Burgess Meredith

as Ernie Pyle


Robert Mitchum movies robert-mitchum

Robert Mitchum

as Lt. Walker


Freddie Steele movies freddie-steele

Freddie Steele

as Sgt. Warnicki


Wally Cassell movies wally-cassell

Wally Cassell

as Pvt. Dondaro


Jimmy Lloyd movies jimmy-lloyd

Jimmy Lloyd

as Pvt. Spencer


John R. Reilly movies john-r.-reilly

John R. Reilly

as Pvt. Murphy


William Murphy movies william-murphy

William Murphy

as Pvt. Mew


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Story of G.I. Joe

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Monte Cassino (17 Jan 1944)





Story of G.I. Joe war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Russian war movies