Tears of the Sun war movie
Tears of the Sun war movie

Tears of the Sun (2003, United States)

Categories: commandos moviesinfantry moviesjungle moviesspecial forces movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


When sudden civil war breaks out in Nigeria American forces rush to rescue few of their citizens that are trapped in country torn by the fights. Lieutenant Waters with his SEAL team is chosen for mission to rescue doctor Lena Fiore, who is US citizen by marriage. She works in secluded catholic mission in Nigeria, close to the border of Cameroon, so Watersí orders are to be deployed by helicopters near the mission, find and secure Fiore plus two nuns and a priest, escort them to landing zone, where they will be again picked up by helicopters are transported to safety in Cameroon. First part of the operation went well, commandos managed to reach the mission and find doctor Fiore, but she is unwilling to leave this place. Her clash with Waters is the first sign that things donít go as they were planned. Fiore has 70 locals under her care and refuses to leave them helpless while the civil war is around them. To fulfill his primary objective Waters agrees to take the 70 people with them, which will slow them down and put whole operation in danger.

Tears of the Sun was quite peculiar project - on one hand we have rather unusual plot as for American war movies (although similar to classic Operation Burma), we have the rescued locals played by people who were actually refugees that has to run away from African countries at some point of their lives, we have promising cast, but... Yes, unfortunately there was but, or even quite few buts. On the other hand all through the movie we have mixture of good scenes and scenes that failed completely, we have typical American cheesy dialogues, not realistic battle scenes (f.e. Americans seem to use some magical bullets that kill enemies instantly without any sound and with single shot), not to mention that they have chosen Nigeria as the location of civil war, but Nigeria is one of the most politically stable countries in Africa... Overall it could have been a good war movie, but with flaws of the script, lack of care for the details and not the best casting (Monica Bellucci as doctor in the African jungle? come on!) it is a disappointment.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Tears of the Sun full movie


full movie Tears of the Sun full movie
full movie Tears of the Sun on DVD


Creators of Tears of the Sun

Antoine Fuqua movies

Alex Lasker movies

Alex Lasker

screenplay


Patrick Cirillo movies

Patrick Cirillo

screenplay



Cast of Tears of the Sun

Bruce Willis movies bruce-willis

Bruce Willis

as Lieutenant Waters


Monica Bellucci movies

Monica Bellucci

as Dr. Lena Fiore


Cole Hauser movies cole-hauser

Cole Hauser

as James Atkins


Eamonn Walker movies eamonn-walker

Eamonn Walker

as Ellis Pettigrew


Tom Skerritt movies tom-skerritt

Tom Skerritt

as Captain Rhodes


Johnny Messner movies johnny-messner

Johnny Messner

as Kelly Lake


Nick Chinlund movies nick-chinlund

Nick Chinlund

as Michael Slowenski


Charles Ingram movies charles-ingram

Charles Ingram

as Demetrius Owens


Paul Francis movies paul-francis

Paul Francis

as Danny Kelley


Chad Smith movies chad-smith

Chad Smith

as Jason Mabry


Malick Bowens movies malick-bowens

Malick Bowens

as Colonel Sadick


add comment

Comment below










Tears of the Sun war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Polish-Teutonic War