The 13th Warrior war movie
The 13th Warrior war movie

The 13th Warrior (1999, United States)

Categories: fantasy moviesknights moviesmystery moviessiege moviesfortress movies

Running time: 100 minutes

Language: English / Latin / Old Norse


In medieval Europe Arab ambassador Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan of Baghdad travels through the secluded parts of the continent. On the route to another town his caravan is attacked by the local tribe, but they retreat once they spot the Vikings boat on the river. Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan for the first time meets people of the north and is fascinated by their culture, but soon a distress message reaches the warriors. A small village somewhere in the north is terrorized by mysterious monster that flows down from the mountains and kill the villagers. A northern oracle makes a prophecy that 13 warriors will save the village and the Vikings volunteer to join the party, but there are only 12 of them. Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan decides to join them so the prophecy would fulfil, but the Vikings are not happy about it - they make fun of his small horse, his funny clothes and the language they donít understand. But Ahmed is determined to get their respect, so he learns their language and he proves he is able warrior. Once they arrive to the village it becomes clear that the locals are absolutely terrified that the monster will soon come back.

Film based on Michael Crichton novel, that didnít gather much attention after the premiere, but later gained almost cult status from the fantasy fans. But the whole story is actually very interesting, the movie resembles such titles as Seven Samurai or Brotherhood of the Wolf and is great adventure not only for fantasy fans, but also is a decent depiction of the medieval warriors. Of course it lacks any historical accuracy, but the atmosphere of mystery gives it a additional value.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



The 13th Warrior full movie


full movie The 13th Warrior full movie
full movie The 13th Warrior on DVD
full movie The 13th Warrior on BluRay


The 13th Warrior videos


The 13th Warrior




Creators of The 13th Warrior

John McTiernan movies

Michael Crichton movies

Warren Lewis movies

Warren Lewis

screenplay


William Wisher Jr. movies


Cast of The 13th Warrior

Antonio Banderas movies antonio-banderas

Antonio Banderas

as Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan


Vladimir Kulich movies vladimir-kulich

Vladimir Kulich

as Buliwyf


Dennis Storhoi movies dennis-storhoi

Daniel Southern movies daniel-southern

Neil Maffin movies neil-maffin

Neil Maffin

as Roneth


John DeSantis movies john-desantis

John DeSantis

as Ragnar


Clive Russell movies clive-russell

Clive Russell

as Helfdane


Mischa Hausserman movies mischa-hausserman

Oliver Sveinall movies oliver-sveinall

Asbjorn Riis movies asbjorn-riis

Asbjorn Riis

as Halga


Richard Bremmer movies richard-bremmer

Tony Curran movies tony-curran

Tony Curran

as Weath


Albie Woodington movies albie-woodington

Omar Sharif movies omar-sharif

Omar Sharif

as Melchisidek


add comment

Comment below












The 13th Warrior trivia


Financial flop

Although to this day it is still unclear what was the final budget of the movie (some version state it as 90 million USD, others put it on 120 or even 160 million level) the film did not brake even with estimated income worldwide around 60 million USD.





The 13th Warrior quotes


Herger:
When they come, we form a circle in the center of the room, backs to one another.
Ahmed Ibn Fahdlan:
I am not a warrior.
Herger:
Very soon, you will be.




Themes in The 13th Warrior

Viking warriorsmedieval warriors

The 13th Warrior war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog American Indian Wars