The Battle of the River Plate war movie
The Battle of the River Plate war movie

The Battle of the River Plate (1956, United Kingdom)

Categories: naval battle moviesnavy movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English / German / Spanish


German pocket battleship Admiral Graf Spee was on a raid mission attacking merchant ships since the start of the war in September 1939. Royal Navy sent few groups to find him and sink him. One of the groups (consisted of 3 cruisers: HMS Exeter, HMS Ajax and HMS Achilles) found and engaged their Graf Spee close the coast of Argentina and Uruguay. Despite heavy damages British managed to cause critical damage to German warship, so they were forced to seek refuge in Montevideo. Uruguay, being a neutral country, was forcing German captain to obey the international law and leave as soon as the repairs will be finished or Graf Spee will be interned. On the way out of the harbor the British task force was already waiting anxious to attack the battleship. The diplomatic and military war of nerves begun...

Film depicts one of the most interesting navy incidents at the beginning of the war - the battle between Admiral Graf Spee and British cruisers and the interesting aftermath of that battle. The movie is done with reasonably good realism and reflects on the atmosphere at the beginning of World War 2 when Germans still had the initiative on the oceans.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Battle of the River Plate full movie


full movie The Battle of the River Plate on DVD


Creators of The Battle of the River Plate

Peter Powell movies

Peter Powell

director


Emeric Pressburger movies

Peter Powell movies

Peter Powell

screenplay


Emeric Pressburger movies


Cast of The Battle of the River Plate

John Gregson movies john-gregson

John Gregson

as Captain Bell


Anthony Quayle movies anthony-quayle

Anthony Quayle

as Commodore Harwood


Ian Hunter movies ian-hunter

Ian Hunter

as Captain Woodhouse


Jack Gwillim movies jack-gwillim

Jack Gwillim

as Captain Parry


Bernard Lee movies bernard-lee

Bernard Lee

as Captain Dove


Michael Goodliffe movies michael-goodliffe

Michael Goodliffe

as Captain McCall


Christopher Lee movies

John Le Mesurier movies john-le-mesurier

John Le Mesurier

as Rev. George Groves


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Battle of the River Plate

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the River Plate (13 Dec 1939)





The Battle of the River Plate war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog First Battle of Bull Run