The Bridge on the River Kwai war movie
The Bridge on the River Kwai war movie

The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957, United Kingdom)

Categories: jungle moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesspecial forces movies

Running time: 160 minutes

Language: English


During World War 2 Japanese army is trying to build the Burma Railway - the line that would allow them to transport their forces quickly from Bangkok to Burma, where they were trying to overpower the British forces. Of course they did not actually build it themselves, they used local civilians and prisoners of war as slave workers. On one of the parts of the railway Colonel Saito is running a unit where Allied soldiers are forced to build the line, but also he has to build the bridge over a River Kwai. Since slave workers die fast from weakness, diseases and malnutrition new unit of British prisoners is sent to reinforce the work on the bridge. British commander, Colonel Nicholson, is a man of principles and point blank refuses to let his officers do the manual labour. Colonel Saito does not care for Geneva Conventions and locks Nicholson in "the oven", solitary box, until he will change his mind. The battle of characters begins...

Classic war movie presenting the true story of construction of the Burma Railway in 1942 and 1943, later known as the Death Railway for the number of slave workers who died during the construction. Although the Burma Railway was true and the conditions in which the workers had to live were true, the events depicted in the movie are fiction only loosely based on true events. The plot is interesting, although the clash between Nicholson and Saito seems a bit fairy-tale like comparing to memories of the veterans of war on Pacific, where Japanese officers were seldom civilized and prefered death as penalty, not locking people up. It is moving story, but fictious.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



The Bridge on the River Kwai full movie


full movie The Bridge on the River Kwai full movie
full movie The Bridge on the River Kwai on DVD


Creators of The Bridge on the River Kwai

David Lean movies

David Lean

director


Pierre Boulle movies

Pierre Boulle

screenplay


Carl Foreman movies

Carl Foreman

screenplay


Michael Wilson movies

Michael Wilson

screenplay



Cast of The Bridge on the River Kwai

William Holden movies william-holden

Alec Guinness movies alec-guinness

Alec Guinness

as Colonel Nicholson


Jack Hawkins movies jack-hawkins

Jack Hawkins

as Major Warden


Sessue Hayakawa movies sessue-hayakawa

Sessue Hayakawa

as Colonel Saito


James Donald movies james-donald

James Donald

as Major Clipton


Geoffrey Horne movies geoffrey-horne

Geoffrey Horne

as Lieutenant Joyce


Andre Morell movies andre-morell

Andre Morell

as Colonel Green


Percy Herbert movies percy-herbert

Percy Herbert

as Grogan


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Bridge on the River Kwai

World War II (1936-1945)





The Bridge on the River Kwai war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 25 war movies