The Counterfeiters war movie
The Counterfeiters war movie

The Counterfeiters (2007, Austria)

Original / alternative title: Die Fälscher

Categories: concentration camp movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: German


In 1942 Germans have gathered 142 counterfeiters in their Sachsenhausen concentration camp to start Operation Bernhard - the plan to destabilise British economy by flooding the markets with forged pound notes. Jew Sorowitsch is one of those counterfeiters who is using his skills and experience to forge the money, but just like the other he realizes that by that he supports his own oppressors. They try to slow the work down so Germans could not make use of their forgery, but not that slow so they would start to kill them.

Based on true events (memoirs of Adolf Burger) film follows the Jewish counterfeiter Sorowitsch and his complicated situation to keep the Germans happy and survive the concentration camp. This movie won the Oscar for best foreign film, but it is hard to point out what exactly made that big impression on Americans. It is not well known story for World War II, the movie was made with decent level of realism, but still it is only one of many decent movies.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Counterfeiters full movie


full movie The Counterfeiters on DVD


Creators of The Counterfeiters

Stefan Ruzowitzky movies

Stefan Ruzowitzky movies

Adolf Burger movies

Adolf Burger

screenplay



Cast of The Counterfeiters

Karl Markovics movies karl-markovics

Karl Markovics

as Sorowitsch


August Diehl movies august-diehl

August Diehl

as Burger


Veit Stuebner movies veit-stuebner

Sebastian Urzendowsky movies sebastian-urzendowsky

Devid Striesow movies devid-striesow

Devid Striesow

as Sturmbannführer Herzog


Martin Brambach movies martin-brambach

Martin Brambach

as Hauptscharführer Holst


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Counterfeiters

World War II (1936-1945)





The Counterfeiters war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Battle of Alesia