The Deer Hunter war movie
The Deer Hunter war movie

The Deer Hunter (1978, United States)

Categories: POW camp movies

Running time: 180 minutes

Language: English


In 1967, in small town of Clairton, Pennsylvania group of friends has just ended the normal workday at the steelworks. But this isnít an ordinary day for them - Steven Pushkov is about to get married and soon after the wedding he, Mike Vronsky and Nick Chevotarevich will leave Clairton and join the army. The Vietnam War is in full swing and for three Russian-American steelworkers this is the last night of their current life. During that night they drunk a lot and they stumble upon the Green Beret veteran, who brushes them off despite the fact that Mike wanted to buy him a drink. Second chapter starts when Nick, now a sergeant, takes part in attack on a village in Vietnam. When he sees the Vietnamese soldier killing a local woman carrying a baby he grabs a flame thrower and burns him to death. Next chapter sees Mike, Steven and Nick captured by enemy and locked up in a cage with water reaching their throats. The sadistic guards from time to time take them out of the cage and force the American prisoners to play the Russian roulette.

The Deer Hunter is a strong anti-war movie, one of the epic productions that show what was the impact of Vietnam War on American society. On one hand it shows what were the spirit among the working class in United States during the war - they saw their military service as part of being American. In second part we see how the same people returned from Vietnam - broken, devastated, completely different. Although the movie is praised by the critics for powerful message, for the strong anti-war view, for the raw look at the working class during Vietnam War, but also there some controversies surrounding the production, even the most iconic scenes of Russian roulette, as work of fiction not supported in facts. Nevertheless The Deer Hunter is one of those war movies that simply cannot be overlooked even though the pace is rather slow and the narration is very subtle.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Deer Hunter full movie


full movie The Deer Hunter full movie
full movie The Deer Hunter on DVD
full movie The Deer Hunter audio


Creators of The Deer Hunter

Michael Cimino movies

Deric Washburn movies

Deric Washburn

screenplay



Cast of The Deer Hunter

Robert De Niro movies

Robert De Niro

as Mike Vronsky


Christopher Walken movies christopher-walken

Christopher Walken

as Nick Chevotarevich


John Savage movies john-savage

John Savage

as Steven Pushkov


Meryl Streep movies meryl-streep

Meryl Streep

as Linda


John Cazale movies john-cazale

Chuck Aspegren movies chuck-aspegren

George Dzundza movies george-dzundza

George Dzundza

as John Welsh


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Deer Hunter

Vietnam War (1955-1975)





The Deer Hunter war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies