The Desert of the Tartars war movie
The Desert of the Tartars war movie

The Desert of the Tartars (1976, Italy)

Original / alternative title: Il deserto dei tartari

Categories: castle moviescavalry moviesdesert moviesfortress moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 140 minutes

Language: Italian


Young soldier, Lieutenant Drogo, leaves his home to take up his first military assignment - he is about to join garrison of Bastiani Fortress on the remote desert border of the kingdom. Behind the desert lies Northern Kingdom of the Tartars - the legendary desert cavalry men. Garrison within the fortress Bastiani keeps the guard of the border, soldiers regularly train, officers keep up all the standards of military outpost as well as the social etiquette. The only thing they are missing is the enemy. As Drogo soon learns there havenít been any incidents on that border for years and some of the soldiers serving in Bastiani doubt if the Tartars still exist or if they are just a legend.

Film based on a Dino Buzzatiís novel, who used to be war correspondent to Italian Navy in Africa during World War II. It depicts the remote outpost on the border of fictious kingdom (although similar to 1920s Italy), where soldiers are kept prepared for the attack of elusive enemy. Film shows what happens to minds of people kept in alert for the danger that doesnít seem to exist - they either try to convince themselves that what they do has a meaning and is important or they just sink into stagnation.

Perhaps not very spectacular war movie, especially for someone who is counting on fast action scenes and a lot of explosions. The Desert of the Tartars concentrates on human nature, not action, but with great cast this movie is strangely involving. Worth watching if not for the plot, then for the breathtaking landscapes.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



The Desert of the Tartars full movie


full movie The Desert of the Tartars on DVD
full movie The Desert of the Tartars on BluRay


Creators of The Desert of the Tartars

Valerio Zurlini movies

Dino Buzzati movies

Dino Buzzati

screenplay


Andre G. Brunelin movies

Jean-Louis Bertuccelli movies


Cast of The Desert of the Tartars

Jacques Perrin movies jacques-perrin

Helmut Griem movies helmut-griem

Helmut Griem

as Simeon


Max von Sydow movies max-von-sydow

Max von Sydow

as Hortiz


Vittorio Gassman movies vittorio-gassman

Vittorio Gassman

as Filimore


Philippe Noiret movies philippe-noiret

Philippe Noiret

as General


Francisco Rabal movies francisco-rabal

Fernando Rey movies fernando-rey

Fernando Rey

as Nathanson


Jean-Louis Trintignant movies jean-louis-trintignant

add comment

Comment below










The Desert of the Tartars war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies