The Dogs of War war movie
The Dogs of War war movie

The Dogs of War (1980, United Kingdom)

Categories: infantry moviesmercenaries moviesreconnaissance movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


Mercenary Jamie Shannon is hired by mining company to go to African country Zangaro, currently ruled by the brutal dictator General Kimba, and see if it is possible to start revolution there so the company could get access to natural resources of Zangaro. Shannon, posing as ornithologist, starts the reconnaissance of Zangaro military forces, but soon is arrested and tortured as spy. In the prison he meets Dr. Okoye, who was presidential candidate when Zangaro gained the independence. After being deported back to United States Shannon is offered large amount of money to prepare army of mercenaries that will overthrown General Kimba.

Story based on Frederick Forsyth’s novel is rather action movie rather than typical war movie (just like Wild Geese), but it does present what was going on in Africa in 1950s and 1960s when after colonial opression the countries were regaining their independence, usually with foreign mercenaries involved. The plot isn’t too complicated nor very involving (especially comparing to Wild Geese), but it is decent war movie.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Dogs of War full movie


full movie The Dogs of War on DVD


Creators of The Dogs of War

John Irvin movies

John Irvin

director


Gary DeVore movies

Gary DeVore

screenplay


George Malko movies

George Malko

screenplay


Frederick Forsyth movies


Cast of The Dogs of War

Christopher Walken movies christopher-walken

Christopher Walken

as Jamie Shannon


Tom Berenger movies tom-berenger

Paul Freeman movies paul-freeman

Paul Freeman

as Derek


Jean-Francois Stevenin movies jean-francois-stevenin

Robert Urquhart movies robert-urquhart

Robert Urquhart

as Captain Lockhart


Winston Ntshona movies winston-ntshona

Winston Ntshona

as Dr. Okoye


Colin Blakely movies colin-blakely

JoBeth Williams movies jobeth-williams

Ed O’Neill movies ed-o’neill

Ed O’Neill

as Terry


George Harris movies george-harris

George Harris

as Colonel Bobi


add comment

Comment below