War movies

For some people war movies are just type of action and adventure movies, but for others they can recall the painful memories. Some of the war movies present the soldiers on the front, sometime the civilians that suffer during the war. As someone one said in war there are no atheists - war affects everyone.


Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

103 years ago on 28 June 1914 Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand took place. The assasination that took place in Sarajevo and triggered one of the most horrifying wars in history - the World War I.


Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle moviesknights movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviestrenches moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

Sniper Elite 4 Deluxe Edition

Sniper Elite 4 Deluxe Edition

Dark Souls III Deluxe Edition

Dark Souls III Deluxe Edition

The Dogs of War war movie
The Dogs of War war movie
The Dogs of War war movie
The Dogs of War war movie

The Dogs of War war movie

1980

The Dogs of War (1980, United Kingdom)

Categories: infantry moviesmercenaries moviesreconnaissance movies



Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


Mercenary Jamie Shannon is hired by mining company to go to African country Zangaro, currently ruled by the brutal dictator General Kimba, and see if it is possible to start revolution there so the company could get access to natural resources of Zangaro. Shannon, posing as ornithologist, starts the reconnaissance of Zangaro military forces, but soon is arrested and tortured as spy. In the prison he meets Dr. Okoye, who was presidential candidate when Zangaro gained the independence. After being deported back to United States Shannon is offered large amount of money to prepare army of mercenaries that will overthrown General Kimba.

Story based on Frederick Forsyth’s novel is rather action movie rather than typical war movie (just like Wild Geese), but it does present what was going on in Africa in 1950s and 1960s when after colonial opression the countries were regaining their independence, usually with foreign mercenaries involved. The plot isn’t too complicated nor very involving (especially comparing to Wild Geese), but it is decent war movie.


Our rating

6.0 / 10


Film value

6 / 10


Realism factor

3 / 5


Adventure factor

3 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

3 / 5



The Dogs of War full movie


full movie The Dogs of War on DVD


add comment

Comment below







Creators of The Dogs of War

John Irvin movies

director


Gary DeVore movies

screenplay


George Malko movies

screenplay


Frederick Forsyth movies

screenplay



Cast of The Dogs of War

Christopher Walken movies christopher-walken
as Jamie Shannon

Tom Berenger movies tom-berenger
as Drew

Paul Freeman movies paul-freeman
as Derek

Jean-Francois Stevenin movies jean-francois-stevenin
as Michel

Robert Urquhart movies robert-urquhart
as Captain Lockhart

Winston Ntshona movies winston-ntshona
as Dr. Okoye

Colin Blakely movies colin-blakely
as North

JoBeth Williams movies jobeth-williams
as Jessie

Ed O’Neill movies ed-o’neill
as Terry

George Harris movies george-harris
as Colonel Bobi