The Four Feathers war movie
The Four Feathers war movie

The Four Feathers (2002, United Kingdom)

Categories: cavalry moviesdesert moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 130 minutes

Language: English / Arabic


Young British officer Harry Faversham has just finished his training and is about to get married to love of his life Ethne. When soldiers of Mahdi besiege Khartoum Harry’s regiment is chosen to help General Gordon trapped in Sudan, but young man has doubts if he should take part in this operation - he has whole life ahead of him and would prefer to get married. He decides to resign of his commission, which enrages his father. Three of his friends (and fellow officers) send him white feathers, the symbol of cowardice, but the fourth white feather has upset him the most - it was from Ethne, who breaks their engagement. His former regiment sets out through desert to save the troops in Khartoum, but Mahdi predicted that and prepared a series of ambushes to destroy the relief forces. Harry, tormented by the guilt and repudiation, decides to disguise himself as Arab and set out on his own to help the British troops. He teams up with mercenary Abou Fatma and rushes to warn the officers about the dangers Mahdi have prepared, but mixed between the Islamic fanatics he has to watch his every step not to reveal who he really is.

Another adaptation of 1902 novel by A.E.W. Mason that tells the story of 1884 military expedition to relief the General Gordon forces trapped in Khartoum during the Mahdi rebellion in Sudan. Although the creators put together interesting cast the film fails to add anything new to the story that was told few times already. Decent directing, decent acting, not bad battle scenes, but overall average movie.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Four Feathers full movie


full movie The Four Feathers full movie
full movie The Four Feathers on DVD


Creators of The Four Feathers

Shekhar Kapur movies

A.E.W. Mason movies

A.E.W. Mason

screenplay


Michael Schiffer movies

Hossein Amini movies

Hossein Amini

screenplay



Cast of The Four Feathers

Heath Ledger movies heath-ledger

Heath Ledger

as Harry Faversham


Wes Bentley movies wes-bentley

Wes Bentley

as Jack Durrance


Djimon Hounsou movies djimon-hounsou

Djimon Hounsou

as Abou Fatma


Kate Hudson movies kate-hudson

Kate Hudson

as Ethne Eustace


Rupert Penry-Jones movies rupert-penry-jones

Rupert Penry-Jones

as Tom Willoughby


Kris Marshall movies kris-marshall

Kris Marshall

as Edward Castleton


Michael Sheen movies michael-sheen

Michael Sheen

as William Trench


James Cosmo movies james-cosmo

James Cosmo

as Colonel Sutch


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Four Feathers

Mahdist War (1881-1899)





The Four Feathers war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog infantry games