The Green Berets war movie
The Green Berets war movie

The Green Berets (1968, United States)

Categories: commandos movieshelicopter moviesinfantry moviesjungle moviesmilitary base movies

Running time: 140 minutes

Language: English / Vietnamese


Colonel Kirby is appointed to pick the team of Green Beret commandos and take them on a mission in South Vietnam. Their first aim is to build and defend a camp on the remote jungle spot surrounded by Viet Cong and North Vietnamese army. But the second part of the mission is much harder - to go behind the enemy lines and kidnap a North Vietnamese general.

War movie directed by John Wayne and made while the Vietnam War was still on. It is affected by Wayne’s views on war - despite all the protests surrounding the Vietnam War Wayne made it as a praise to American involvement in war and to justify the involvement. And unfortunately it was made really heavy handed - parts of the movie seems like a propaganda flick made by completely brainwashed amateur.

To put politics aside The Green Berets as a war movie has some good parts and some bad parts - it isn’t particularly inventive nor realistic. Simple story made in almost western-like style, filmed in American forests that look nothing like the jungles of South-East Asia.




Our rating

4.4

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



The Green Berets full movie


full movie The Green Berets on DVD


Creators of The Green Berets

John Wayne movies

John Wayne

director


Ray Kellogg movies

Ray Kellogg

director


James Lee Barrett movies

Robin Moore movies

Robin Moore

screenplay



Cast of The Green Berets

John Wayne movies

John Wayne

as Col. Mike Kirby


Aldo Ray movies aldo-ray

Aldo Ray

as Sgt. Muldoon


Jim Hutton movies jim-hutton

Jim Hutton

as Sgt. Petersen


Raymond St. Jacques movies raymond-st.-jacques

Raymond St. Jacques

as Sgt. Doc McGee


Bruce Cabot movies bruce-cabot

Bruce Cabot

as Col. Morgan


Jack Soo movies jack-soo

Jack Soo

as Col. Cai


George Takei movies george-takei

George Takei

as Capt. Nim


Patrick Wayne movies patrick-wayne

Patrick Wayne

as Lt. Jamison


Luke Askew movies luke-askew

Luke Askew

as Sgt. Provo


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Green Berets

Vietnam War (1955-1975)





The Green Berets war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Norwegian war movies