The Guns of Navarone war movie
The Guns of Navarone war movie

The Guns of Navarone (1961, United Kingdom)

Categories: commandos moviesnavy moviespartisans moviesraid moviesresistance movies

Running time: 155 minutes

Language: English / Greek / German


In 1943 about 2000 of British soldiers are trapped on the island Kheros between Turkey and Greece. They can survive only seven days before German will wipe them out, so the headquarters prepares plan to rescue them using destroyers. But one German fortification on small island of Navarone blocks all their options - the fortification is battery of naval guns supported by radar and garrison full of soldiers to protect it.

Captain Jensen, head of Special Operations Executive, orders the air strike, but it is doomed since the guns are placed in the cave in the middle of high cliff. His sees raid of commandos as the last chance to rescue soldiers trapped on Kheros. He sets up the team using his best men and sends them in a an old fishing boat to destroy the guns on Navarone.

Film based on Alistair MacLean novel, which was inspired by real events - battle of Island Leros - but the real operation had completely different objectives and methods used. In real battle, after Italy have surrendered, British troops have landed on the island to support the weak Italian garrison and try to stop Germans from taking control over the island (which failed). The Guns of Navarone is classic as novel and the war movie with great cast and (as usual in MacLean’s novels) rather complicated plot. The length of the movie could be a little much for the viewers, but overall it is good war movie.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



The Guns of Navarone full movie


full movie The Guns of Navarone full movie
full movie The Guns of Navarone on DVD


Creators of The Guns of Navarone

J. Lee Thompson movies

Alistair MacLean movies

Carl Foreman movies

Carl Foreman

screenplay



Cast of The Guns of Navarone

Gregory Peck movies

Gregory Peck

as Mallory


David Niven movies david-niven

David Niven

as Miller


Anthony Quinn movies anthony-quinn

Anthony Quinn

as Andrea


Stanley Baker movies stanley-baker

Anthony Quayle movies anthony-quayle

Anthony Quayle

as Franklin


James Darren movies james-darren

James Darren

as Pappadimos


Irene Papas movies irene-papas

Irene Papas

as Maria


Gia Scala movies gia-scala

Gia Scala

as Anna


James Robertson Justice movies james-robertson-justice

Richard Harris movies richard-harris

Richard Harris

as Squad Leader Barnsby


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Guns of Navarone

World War II (1936-1945)





The Guns of Navarone war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog In Enemy Hands war movie