The Hill war movie
The Hill war movie

The Hill (1965, United Kingdom)

Categories: desert moviesmilitary base movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


During the North African campaign 5 British soldiers are sent to a field punishment detention in the middle of the desert for sometimes trivial crimes, like petty theft. Here, using the heat, military drill and senseless brutality the guards and instructors are training them to be reinstated to the army. The hill was the ultimate punishment - big pile of sand and rocks that prisoners were running up and down with full kit in the heat of sun.

Film based on personal experience of Ray Rigby, who while serving as private in Africa was sent to such camp. It is the other face of brave British army in Africa - behind the front lines there were sadistic men in uniforms enjoying punishing and
humiliating soldiers. This film shows how the whole system of British army was not only allowing that, but was encouraging such practices.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Creators of The Hill

Sidney Lumet movies

Sidney Lumet

director


R.S. Allen movies

R.S. Allen

screenplay


Ray Rigby movies

Ray Rigby

screenplay



Cast of The Hill

Sean Connery movies sean-connery

Sean Connery

as Joe Roberts


Alfred Lynch movies alfred-lynch

Alfred Lynch

as George Stevens


Ossie Davis movies ossie-davis

Ossie Davis

as Jacko King


Roy Kinnear movies roy-kinnear

Roy Kinnear

as Monty Bartlett


Jack Watson movies jack-watson

Jack Watson

as Jock McGrath


Harry Andrews movies harry-andrews

Harry Andrews

as R.S.M. Wilson


Ian Bannen movies ian-bannen

Ian Bannen

as Harris


Ian Hendry movies ian-hendry

Ian Hendry

as Staff Sergeant Williams


Michael Redgrave movies michael-redgrave

Michael Redgrave

as Medical Officer


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Hill

World War II (1936-1945)