The Inn of the Sixth Happiness war movie
The Inn of the Sixth Happiness war movie

The Inn of the Sixth Happiness (1958, United States)

Categories: partisans movies

Running time: 160 minutes

Language: English / Chinese


Englishwoman Gladys Aylward believes that her destiny is to become a missionary in China. She works as a maid just to gather money required to buy all the tickets to get there. She travelled through half of Europe and whole Asia to finally reach the remote village, where she settles in the inn runned by Jeannie Lawson. She learns the way of life in China and earn respects among the local officials, but everything changes when Japanese invade China.

Film based on the life story of Gladys Aylward, who really was missionary in China before, during and after the World War 2. Unfortunately Americans have made movie about Englishwoman, so they’ve decided to change the story... almost completely. As for war movie it is rather poor offer (the movie is over 2,5 hours long and there are only 2-3 scenes that are about the war that was going on around). Instead of her heroic devotion we see poorly written romance story that has nothing to do with reality.




Our rating

4.0

Film value

3 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



The Inn of the Sixth Happiness full movie


full movie The Inn of the Sixth Happiness full movie
full movie The Inn of the Sixth Happiness on DVD


Creators of The Inn of the Sixth Happiness

Mark Robson movies

Mark Robson

director


Alan Burgess movies

Alan Burgess

screenplay


Isobel Lennart movies

Isobel Lennart

screenplay



Cast of The Inn of the Sixth Happiness

Ingrid Bergman movies ingrid-bergman

Ingrid Bergman

as Gladys Aylward


Curd Jurgens movies curd-jurgens

Curd Jurgens

as Captain Lin Nan


Robert Donat movies robert-donat

Robert Donat

as Mandarin of Yang Cheng


Michael David movies michael-david

Athene Seyler movies athene-seyler

Athene Seyler

as Jeannie Lawson


Burt Kwouk movies burt-kwouk

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Inn of the Sixth Happiness

World War II (1936-1945)





The Inn of the Sixth Happiness war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 25 war movies