War movies

War movies show the picture of conflicts between people and at the same time show the picture of all of us. The war was different for infantry men, snipers, submarine crews or pilots, but usually they are equally bad for the civilians. As someone one said in war there are no atheists - war affects everyone.



Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

The Last Samurai war movie
The Last Samurai war movie
The Last Samurai war movie
The Last Samurai war movie
The Last Samurai war movie
The Last Samurai war movie
The Last Samurai war movie

The Last Samurai war movie

2003

The Last Samurai (2003, United States)

Categories: infantry moviesknights moviesmercenaries movies



Running time: 150 minutes

Language: English / Japanese


Captain Nathan Algren is washed out veteran of American Indian Wars. He is an alcoholic, who makes living being an alive mascot for the Winchester gun manufacturer - he is taken from one event to another, where he talks about the superiority of Winchester products over competition, but one day he is simply too drunk to perform and is fired by the employer. Just in time he receives an interesting offer that is closer to his experience - Japanese imperial army is being modernized, which includes introduction of firearms and artillery. They hire foreign advisors to teach the units in modern warfare. Algren is given position as an instructor put in charge of the infantry unit. Together with Sergeant Gant and Colonel Bagley they do their best to transform the inept group of men into a fighting unit, which is hard due to not only language barrier, but also completely different mentality of Japanese soldiers. Even though Algren opposes it the unit is sent to face their enemy - samurai warriors, who continue to use traditional weapons: famous katana swords, pikes and bows. The first engagement with the enemy ends in disaster - the charge of the samurai warriors starts the panic among the soldiers, Gant is killed and Algren wounded. Samurai do not kill him - their leader Katsumoto orders them to take Algren back to their camp, where his wounds will be treated. He is their captive, although can freely walk around the camp - it is situated high in the mountains, so there is no way for him to escape. This experience will change his approach to life and the conflict in Japan - while he observes the devotion of samurai warriors to self-improvement he changes his attitude from hostile to curious.

American movie about the era of cultural and military opening of Japanese Empire to the world - first time in centuries they decided to break the tradition of swords and arrows as the main weapons and adapt to the Western modern warfare. Alcoholic veteran of American Indian Wars is hired among the foreign instructors to be part of this transformation, but through his eyes we see how the new world is not better than the traditional one in Japan. The rules of bushido code on first glance looked obsolete and hard to accept in modern times, but Algren learns that this world had its order and meaning. Unfortunately the bushido code and the reality of samurai lives are based more on legends and myths rather than historical reality. The events shows in The Last Samurai are close to what it might have looked like, but of course they are fiction. Overall a decent film, but cutting about 1 hour of the time would not spoil anything in the basic story.


Our rating

5.2 / 10


Film value

5 / 10


Realism factor

3 / 5


Adventure factor

3 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

2 / 5



add comment

Comment below







Creators of The Last Samurai

Edward Zwick movies

director


Edward Zwick movies

screenplay


John Logan movies

screenplay


Marshall Herskovitz movies

screenplay



Cast of The Last Samurai

Tom Cruise movies tom-cruise
as Nathan Algren

Ken Watanabe movies ken-watanabe
as Katsumoto

Hiroyuki Sanada movies hiroyuki-sanada
as Ujio

Koyuki Kato movies koyuki-kato
as Taka

Billy Connolly movies billy-connolly
as Sergeant Zebulon Gant

Tony Goldwyn movies tony-goldwyn
as Colonel Bagley

Timothy Spall movies timothy-spall
as Simon Graham

Masato Harada movies masato-harada
as Omura

Togo Igawa movies togo-igawa
as General Hasegawa

Shin Koyamada movies shin-koyamada
as Nobutada