The Longest Day war movie
The Longest Day war movie

The Longest Day (1962, United States)

Categories: commandos moviesinfantry movieslanding moviesparatroopers movies

Running time: 170 minutes

Language: English / German / French


June 6th 1944 on the French coast started just like any other day - the German garrisons were preparing for breakfast, the local Frenchmen were taking care of their livestock. But everything has changed just minutes after one of the observation bunkers have spotted the dark silhouettes on the horizon. First they were unsure what they could be, but soon they realized it has to be the expected invasion of Allied forces. That how D-Day, also known as the Longest Day, has started. But the story actually started long before the June 6th - both sides knew there is only one way to finish World War 2 - by confrontation on the continent. The date of the confrontation also was rather obvious - so far the Allies always planned the landing operations for early in the morning on the end of spring or beginning of the summer and during good weather. And intelligence of both sides started the duel aiming to outsmart the other side - Allies were determined to fool the Germans where the invasion will take place, while the Nazis were trying hard to find out which of the locations is the real one and which will be only a decoy. Months of planning and preparations came to an end and the turning point of the World War 2 started with landing of paratroopers behind the German lines and the hundreds of landing crafts on the horizon.

War movie presenting the most important Allied operation during World War 2 in Europe - the landings during D-Day, but we see the story not from the moment first soldiers have reached Normandy, but the clash of the intelligence and all the factors both sides had to take under consideration. Even though it was made very close to real events it is fascinating movie about fascinating operation - the breakthrough that lead to end Nazi domination in Europe. Cast filled with stars, well written script, well presented fight scenes and in-depth representation of the atmosphere that accompanied that vital point in history - an epic movie about epic moment in our past.




Our rating

8.4

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



The Longest Day full movie


full movie The Longest Day full movie
full movie The Longest Day on DVD


Creators of The Longest Day

Ken Annakin movies

Ken Annakin

director


Andrew Marton movies

Bernhard Wicki movies

Cornelius Ryan movies

Cornelius Ryan

screenplay



Cast of The Longest Day

John Wayne movies

John Wayne

as Lt. Col. Benjamin Vandervoort


Robert Mitchum movies robert-mitchum

Robert Mitchum

as Brig. Gen. Norman Cota


Wolfgang Preiss movies wolfgang-preiss

Wolfgang Preiss

as Maj. Gen. Max Pemsel


Paul Hartmann movies paul-hartmann

Paul Hartmann

as Field Marshal Gerd von Rundstedt


Henry Fonda movies

Henry Fonda

as Brig. Gen. Theodore Roosevelt Jr.


Eddie Albert movies eddie-albert

Eddie Albert

as Col. Thompson


Hans Christian Blech movies hans-christian-blech

Hans Christian Blech

as Maj. Werner Pluskat


Richard Burton movies richard-burton

Richard Burton

as Flying Officer David Campbell


Mel Ferrer movies mel-ferrer

Mel Ferrer

as Maj. Gen. Robert Haines


Steve Forrest movies steve-forrest

Steve Forrest

as Capt. Harding


Werner Hinz movies werner-hinz

Werner Hinz

as Field Marshal Erwin Rommel


Curd Jurgens movies curd-jurgens

Curd Jurgens

as Maj. Gen. Gunther Blumentritt


Alexander Knox movies alexander-knox

Alexander Knox

as Maj. Gen. Walter Bedell Smith


Christian Marquand movies christian-marquand

Christian Marquand

as Cmdr. Philippe Kieffer


Kenneth More movies kenneth-more

Kenneth More

as Capt. Colin Maud


Richard Munch movies richard-munch

Richard Munch

as Gen. Erich Marcks


Edmond O’Brien movies edmond-o’brien

Edmond O’Brien

as Gen. Raymond D. Barton


Robert Ryan movies robert-ryan

Robert Ryan

as Brig. Gen. James M. Gavin


Peter van Eyck movies peter-van-eyck

Peter van Eyck

as Lt. Col. Ocker


Richard Todd movies richard-todd

Richard Todd

as Maj. John Howard


Tom Tryon movies tom-tryon

Tom Tryon

as Lt. Wilson


Stuart Whitman movies stuart-whitman

Stuart Whitman

as Lt. Sheen


Sean Connery movies sean-connery

Sean Connery

as Pvt. Flanagan


Leslie Phillips movies leslie-phillips

Leslie Phillips

as RAF Officer Mac


George Segal movies george-segal

George Segal

as U.S. Army Ranger


Rod Steiger movies rod-steiger

Rod Steiger

as Destroyer Commander


Robert Wagner movies robert-wagner

Robert Wagner

as U.S. Army Ranger


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Longest Day

World War II (1936-1945) D-Day (6 Jun 1944)





The Longest Day war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Second Moroccan War