The Monuments Men war movie
The Monuments Men war movie

The Monuments Men (2014, United States)

Categories:

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


In 1943 Allied forces were pushing towards Rome and it seemed that Italy is going to fall soon. Frank Stokes persuades his superiors that they have start right away with the missions to protect all the works of art from the areas that army is advancing on. In his point of view the victory in war will be pointless when in the process the artistic treasures of Western civilization will be destroyed or lost. American president gives the green light for Stokes to assemble a team of experts that will pursue the task of saving the works of art. His unit, nicknamed the Monuments Men, consists of museum curators, art historians and an architect. Stokes sees their role more as advisors that will guide the army officers, rather than hands-on participants, but the reality will soon prove him wrong. Most of the army officers see no point in risking their troops in order to save any art, so the Monuments Men have to personally visit all the places that need their attention and try to not only save the treasures, but also return them to their rightful owners. They find allies in French and Belgian resistance, members of that organizations are active in blocking Germans from stealing the art and transporting it to Third Reich.

The Monuments Men tells the true story of Allied officers that took risk on the front line of the offensive in Europe to save the works of art the Nazis were trying to transport to Germany. While the plot is interesting, especially since it is based on real events, the film somehow manages to disappoint - rather than telling a specific story it is rather a set of anecdotes surrounding the real Monuments Men and while some of them are intriguing, sometimes even funny, the cast is impressive with George Clooney as both actor and director, the whole movie is rather forgettable.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Monuments Men full movie


full movie The Monuments Men full movie
full movie The Monuments Men on DVD


Creators of The Monuments Men

George Clooney movies

George Clooney movies

George Clooney

screenplay


Grant Heslov movies

Grant Heslov

screenplay



Cast of The Monuments Men

George Clooney movies

George Clooney

as Frank Stokes


Bill Murray movies bill-murray

Bill Murray

as Richard Campbell


Matt Damon movies matt-damon

Matt Damon

as James Granger


John Goodman movies john-goodman

John Goodman

as Walter Garfield


Jean Dujardin movies jean-dujardin

Jean Dujardin

as Jean-Claude Clermont


Hugh Bonneville movies hugh-bonneville

Hugh Bonneville

as Donald Jeffries


Bob Balaban movies bob-balaban

Bob Balaban

as Preston Savitz


Cate Blanchett movies cate-blanchett

Cate Blanchett

as Claire Simone


Justus von Dohnanyi movies justus-von-dohnanyi

Justus von Dohnanyi

as Viktor Stahl


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Monuments Men

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944) Operation Lumberjack (1 Mar 1945)





The Monuments Men war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Battlefield 4