The Railway Man war movie
The Railway Man war movie

The Railway Man (2014, Australia)

Categories: POW camp movies

Running time: 115 minutes

Language: English / Japanese


Eric Lomax never misses the meetings of the railway enthusiasts group. His fascination with the trains goes years back, to the times before the war. He met his future wife aboard of the train, but the only thing he canít share with her is what happened to him during the war. He was captured by the Japanese army near Singapore and was sent to a prisoners of war camp and later was one of the British soldiers forced to build the Thai-Burma Railway, which was close to his personal interests. He used his skills to build a simple radio and hear to the BBC news from the fronts around the world, but when the radio was found together with his map of the railway he is arrested as spy and tortured. Under influence of his wife he begins to return to those events and decides to find the Japanese officers responsible for his suffering.

Film based on the autobiography of Eric Lomax, who was prisoner of war in Malaya, shows his own experiences from the war and his emotional scars that lasted for years after the war. It is very moving film about man, who looks for closure with the part of his life that gave him only pain and bitterness.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Railway Man full movie


full movie The Railway Man full movie
full movie The Railway Man on DVD


Creators of The Railway Man

Jonathan Teplitzky movies

Frank Cottrell Boyce movies

Andy Paterson movies

Andy Paterson

screenplay


Eric Lomax movies

Eric Lomax

screenplay



Cast of The Railway Man

Colin Firth movies colin-firth

Colin Firth

as Eric Lomax


Jeremy Irvine movies jeremy-irvine

Jeremy Irvine

as Young Eric Lomax


Nicole Kidman movies nicole-kidman

Stellan Skarsgaard movies stellan-skarsgaard

Tanroh Ishida movies tanroh-ishida

Tanroh Ishida

as Young Takeshi Nagase


Hiroyuki Sanada movies hiroyuki-sanada

Hiroyuki Sanada

as Takeshi Nagase


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Railway Man

World War II (1936-1945)





The Railway Man war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Italian war movies