The Sea Chase war movie
The Sea Chase war movie

The Sea Chase (1955, United States)

Categories: navy movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


A little bit unusual movie for John Wayne - after long list of war movies in which he was tough-as-nails American officers plus beautiful women in scenes between the battles here we have Wayne as tough-as-nails German captain with beautiful woman aboard his ship. On the beginning of World War 2 German old steam freighter Ergenstrasse is about to leave port at Sydney, Australia to avoid being interned. Captain Ehrlich decides to slip out of harbour and try to make it back to Germany. Australian and British navy chase them, but Ehrlich has bigger problems than that - his ship doesnít have enough coal and food for the voyage, so he has to find way to reach islands of South Pacific in order to resupply.

The story is based on events involving German steamer Erlangen that run away from the New Zealand port and made it to the South America avoiding British navy. He was intercepted near Montevideo and sunk by the crew. In The Sea Chase we also have a second subplot - onboard of Ergenstrasse is a beautiful woman that becomes involved with captain, which doesnít actually add much value to the movie.

Just like other John Wayne movies this one also has some good points (beautiful scenery of South Pacific, gripping fight for survival of the crew) and some weak points (unnecessary romantic subplot, strange propaganda twists), so overall it isnít bad, but could have been so much better.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Sea Chase full movie


full movie The Sea Chase on DVD


Creators of The Sea Chase

John Farrow movies

John Farrow

director


James Warner Bellah movies

John Twist movies

John Twist

screenplay


Andrew Geer movies

Andrew Geer

screenplay



Cast of The Sea Chase

John Wayne movies

John Wayne

as Captain Karl Ehrlich


Lana Turner movies lana-turner

Lana Turner

as Elsa Keller


Lyle Bettger movies lyle-bettger

Lyle Bettger

as Chief Officer Kirchner


Tab Hunter movies tab-hunter

Tab Hunter

as Cadet Wesser


James Arness movies james-arness

James Arness

as Schlieter


Richard Davalos movies richard-davalos

Richard Davalos

as Cadet Walter Stemme


John Qualen movies john-qualen

John Qualen

as Chief Engineer Schmitt


David Farrar movies david-farrar

David Farrar

as Commander Jeff Napier


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Sea Chase

World War II (1936-1945)





The Sea Chase war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 25 war movies