The Sea Wolves war movie
The Sea Wolves war movie

The Sea Wolves (1980, United Kingdom)

Categories: covert operations moviesnavy moviesraid moviesspy movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English / German


Special Operations Executive in India gather the information that one of the German merchant ships in Goa harbour is providing U-Boats with times and routes of Allies shipping in the area. Several ships are lost due to that source of informations and British are determined to stop it. But there is small problem - the city and harbour of Goa are territory of Portugal and Portugal is neutral. Attacking the ship with British forces would mean breaking Portuguese neutrality and cause diplomatic problems.

However Colonel Pugh comes up with the solution - there is a group of veterans of Boer War, now retired, who joined Calcutta Light Horse, a cavalry reserve in theory, but in practice more a social club than actually military unit. Pugh suggests that members of Calcutta Light Horse would be perfect to sneak close enough to the target ship and sink it.

Film based on a true story of Operation Boarding Party carried out by the Calcutta Light Horse members in 1943. Using old barge they went round the India to Goa and using distractions provided by British intelligence attacked German ship Ehrenfels. But the film also depicts the operations of SOE that led to the action. Very impressive cast and interesting plot based on real events - worth to know.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Sea Wolves full movie


full movie The Sea Wolves full movie


Creators of The Sea Wolves

Andrew V. McLaglen movies

James Leasor movies

James Leasor

screenplay


Reginald Rose movies

Reginald Rose

screenplay



Cast of The Sea Wolves

Gregory Peck movies

Gregory Peck

as Colonel Pugh


Roger Moore movies roger-moore

Roger Moore

as Captain Stewart


David Niven movies david-niven

David Niven

as Colonel Grice


Trevor Howard movies trevor-howard

Trevor Howard

as Jack Cartwright


Patrick Macnee movies patrick-macnee

Patrick Macnee

as Major Crossley


Barbara Kellerman movies barbara-kellerman

Barbara Kellerman

as Agnes Cromwell


Bernard Archard movies bernard-archard

Bernard Archard

as Underhill


Graham Stark movies graham-stark

Graham Stark

as Don Manners


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Sea Wolves

World War II (1936-1945)