The Sinking of the Laconia war movie
The Sinking of the Laconia war movie

The Sinking of the Laconia (2010, United Kingdom)

Categories: navy moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 170 minutes

Language: English / German


1942, Atlantic Ocean, west of Africa. Laconia, an old British cruise liner turned into troop ship, leaves South Africa and takes course on Liverpool. Aboard Laconia there is almost 2000 Italian prisoners, armed guards and civilian passengers (many of them women). Unescorted and armed only with few obsolete guns the ship is an easy target for the enemy. German submarine U-156 spots the ship from long distance and closes up to inspect if it is possible target. When Germans notice the guns they are sure it is valid target and suspect it is full of British soldiers. Torpedoes damage the Laconia badly and the captain gives the order to abandon the ship. U-156 surfaces to check if there are any officers among the survivors. When German captain realizes that most of the castaways on the lifeboats are women he decides to do the right thing and starts the rescue operation. But the problem is there is no way he can help all of them, so captain Hartenstein has to make some tough decisions. He sends an open message in English requesting any help from Allies for the survivors and ensuring that any ship helping the people from Laconia will not be attacked. German headquarters realize how difficult the situation is, but Allies have many doubts if they want to get involved.

British miniseries that tells the story of so called Laconia incident when German U-boat sunked British cruise liner and later captain Werner Hartenstein tried to rescue the survivors. Film is based on the real events that took place on the Atlantic Ocean in 1942. The production involved quite a lot of scenes filmed on the sea, apart from that there is a lot of low quality special effects and not very accurate interiors of U-boat. The strong point is historical accuracy and interesting script that shows not only the events aboard the ships, but also the politics behind it, just like in f.e. "Battle of River Plate".

Interesting plot that keeps the viewer involved, tensed atmosphere and the constant distrust between both sides that are trying to do the right thing, but they simply canít forget that the war is still on.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



The Sinking of the Laconia full movie


full movie The Sinking of the Laconia on DVD
full movie The Sinking of the Laconia on DVD


Creators of The Sinking of the Laconia

Uwe Janson movies

Uwe Janson

director


Alan Bleasdale movies

Alan Bleasdale

screenplay



Cast of The Sinking of the Laconia

Ken Duken movies ken-duken

Ken Duken

as Werner Hartenstein


Andrew Buchan movies andrew-buchan

Andrew Buchan

as Thomas Mortimer


Franka Potente movies franka-potente

Lindsay Duncan movies lindsay-duncan

Lindsay Duncan

as Elisabeth Fullwood


Brian Cox movies brian-cox

Brian Cox

as Captain Sharp


Thomas Kretschmann movies thomas-kretschmann

Thomas Kretschmann

as Admiral DŲnitz


Ludovico Fremont movies ludovico-fremont

Ludovico Fremont

as Vincenzo Di Giovanni


Frederick Lau movies frederick-lau

Frederick Lau

as Fiedler


Simon Verhoeven movies simon-verhoeven

Simon Verhoeven

as Harro Schacht


Ciaran McMenamin movies ciaran-mcmenamin

Ciaran McMenamin

as Declan McDermott


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Sinking of the Laconia

World War II (1936-1945)





The Sinking of the Laconia war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog world war 2 movies