The Star war movie
The Star war movie

The Star (2002, Russia)

Original / alternative title: Zvezda

Categories: commandos moviesinfantry moviesraid moviesreconnaissance movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: Russian / German


In preparation for the big push on the Eastern Front Russians are setting up a scout platoon called Zvezda (the star) to go behind enemy lines and find positions of German armoured divisions. After artillery barrage they move out and slip through enemy lines. While being on the hostile ground they are forced to use any means to reach their target.

The Star, like many other Russian war movies, is a mixture of adventure, love story, heroism and lack of realism. The story of small scout platoon behind German lines could have been so much better than what we get in Zvezda, f.e. if it was made like Where Eagles Dare. But this film is a simple story, told in a simple way, showing a small fragment of Russian history.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



The Star full movie


full movie The Star on DVD


Creators of The Star

Nikolay Lebedev movies

Aleksandr Borodyanskiy movies

Evgeniy Grigorev movies

Emmanuil G. Kazakevich movies


Cast of The Star

Igor Petrenko movies igor-petrenko

Igor Petrenko

as Lt. Travkin


Artyom Semakin movies artyom-semakin

Artyom Semakin

as Pvt. Vorobiev


Aleksey Panin movies aleksey-panin

Aleksey Panin

as Sgt. Kostya Mamochkin


Aleksey Kravchenko movies aleksey-kravchenko

Aleksey Kravchenko

as Sgt. Anikanov


Anatoliy Gushchin movies anatoliy-gushchin

Anatoliy Gushchin

as Pvt. Bykov


Amadu Mamadakov movies amadu-mamadakov

Amadu Mamadakov

as Pvt. Temdekov


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Star

World War II (1936-1945) Operation Bagration (22 Jun 1944)