Top Gun war movie
Top Gun war movie

Top Gun (1986, United States)

Categories: aircraft carrier moviesaircraft moviesdogfight moviesmilitary base moviesnavy movies

Running time: 110 minutes

Language: English


While on patrol over Indian Ocean two F-14 Tomcats are approached by Russian MiG-28 fighters. Since it is middle of Cold War the open conflict could be catastrophy for whole world, so Pete "Maverick" Mitchell manages to shake the MiG off and help the other pilot to land on the carrier again. For this action he is sent to Top Gun, a Navyís Fighter Weapons School where he can improve his skills. In the base he fells in love with attractive instructor Charlotte "Charlie" Blackwood and starts the rivalry with other pilot Tom "Iceman" Kasansky.

1980s hit that pretty much started the career of Tom Cruise. As for war movie it isnít particularly good - the dogfight sequences were done with a lot of effort, but the romance bits and alpha-male rivalry with Val Kilmer kill the atmosphere. Also just like in other productions from same era we still see fictional planes (MiG-28) played by old American planes (F-5 Tiger) which doesnít help with realism of the production.




Our rating

4.0

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Top Gun full movie


full movie Top Gun full movie
full movie Top Gun on DVD
full movie Top Gun on BluRay


Creators of Top Gun

Tony Scott movies

Tony Scott

director


Jim Cash movies

Jim Cash

screenplay


Jack Epps Jr movies

Jack Epps Jr

screenplay



Cast of Top Gun

Tom Cruise movies tom-cruise

Tom Cruise

as Maverick


Kelly McGillis movies kelly-mcgillis

Kelly McGillis

as Charlie


Val Kilmer movies val-kilmer

Val Kilmer

as Iceman


Anthony Edwards movies anthony-edwards

Tom Skerritt movies tom-skerritt

Tom Skerritt

as Viper


Michael Ironside movies michael-ironside

John Stockwell movies john-stockwell

Tim Robbins movies tim-robbins

Tim Robbins

as Merlin


Meg Ryan movies meg-ryan

Meg Ryan

as Carole


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Top Gun

Cold War (1953-1991)