Uncommon Valor war movie
Uncommon Valor war movie

Uncommon Valor (1983, United States)

Categories: commandos moviescovert operations moviesmercenaries moviesmilitary base moviesPOW camp moviesraid movies

Running time: 105 minutes

Language: English


Vietnam War, unit of American soldiers is about to be picked up by helicopters from the middle of rice field, but the enemy is on their tail and they have to fight their way to the pickup zone. Frank Rhodes tries to help his wounded friend, but with the extra weight on his shoulders he is unable to reach the helicopters on time and pilots have to take off immediately under heavy fire. Frank and other people left behind are taken prisoners. Soon the Vietnam War is over, but American prisoners are still stuck in the POW camps all over Southeast Asia. Ten years later the negotiations to bring back the prisoners are still going on. Colonel Jason Rhodes, father of Frank, decides he canít wait any longer, knowing that his son is kept somewhere in the jungle, and tries to find out where exactly. He uses his influences in army and CIA to get the aerial photos of the area he believes Frank is kept, later he contacts few of his friends that could help him in more active way. He prepares a plan to break Frank out of POW camp using small number of Vietnam War veterans. Also he sets up a replica of the camp and begins the training.

War movie about father of American soldier that 10 years after the war is still kept in the POW camp somewhere in Vietnam. He sets up a team of veterans to storm into the camp and break free the prisoners. The script and premise are not very original (quite similar to f.e. The Wild Geese or The Dogs of War), cast did well, but with lack of realism the film is more like B-movie adventure flick than war movie.




Our rating

4.4

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Uncommon Valor full movie


full movie Uncommon Valor full movie
full movie Uncommon Valor on DVD


Creators of Uncommon Valor

Ted Kotcheff movies

Ted Kotcheff

director


Joe Gayton movies

Joe Gayton

screenplay



Cast of Uncommon Valor

Gene Hackman movies

Gene Hackman

as Colonel Jason Rhodes


Robert Stack movies robert-stack

Robert Stack

as MacGregor


Fred Ward movies fred-ward

Fred Ward

as Wilkes


Reb Brown movies reb-brown

Reb Brown

as Blaster


Randall Cobb movies randall-cobb

Randall Cobb

as Sailor


Patrick Swayze movies

Patrick Swayze

as Kevin Scott


Harold Sylvester movies harold-sylvester

Tim Thomerson movies tim-thomerson

Tim Thomerson

as Charts


Alice Lau movies alice-lau

Alice Lau

as Lai Fun


Kwan Hi Lim movies kwan-hi-lim

Kwan Hi Lim

as Jiang


Todd Allen movies todd-allen

Todd Allen

as Frank Rhodes


Jane Kaczmarek movies jane-kaczmarek

Jane Kaczmarek

as Mrs. Wilkes


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Uncommon Valor

Vietnam War (1955-1975)





Uncommon Valor war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Vietnam War